DINE WITH ME AT LA GRENOUILLE IN NYC 🐸 (FOODIE REVIEW) 🍽️😍

in #food6 years ago

Happy Weekend Steemit Friends! 😉

Today, I'm excited to share with you a lovely dinner I had over the holidays! 🍾 Living in New York City, there are so many dining options to choose from right at your doorstep. Yet, few are as unique and as legendary as La Grenouille. 🐸

lagren.png

Located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, this "Old New York" fine dining establishment has been in business for over half a century. Despite its age, "the little frog" is still hot and hopping.

Since it first opened its doors in 1962, La Grenouille has been wowing patrons with its exquisite French haute cuisine and lavish décor. Much of which has remained the same throughout the years.

This joint certainly gives off that '60's 'Mad Men' vibe. So much so, you'd expect to spot Don Draper sipping an old-fashioned at the bar.

The opulent Main Dining Room is like a flower bomb exploded! It's filled with fresh bouquets of the prettiest pink roses and sumptuously soft red velvet booth seats. C'est chic!

La Grenouille is rich in both heritage and romance and is the perfect choice to celebrate a special occasion with that very special someone. It's an epicurean delight in every way!

Take a Virtual Tour


🌹 The Main Dining Room. Photo courtesy of La Grenouille. 🌹

On this evening, I enjoyed the prix fixe tasting menu served in the Main Dining Room. The same menu is also available upstairs at the Fireside Café. If you prefer to order à la carte, you can do so at the bar Aviateur. Each dining room offers its very own ambience.

Here's a peek at le menu's highlights...

lagren1.JPG

The snapper tartare

I have a weak spot for tartare, and this snapper was absolutely delectable!

Up next is my favorite part of the meal...

mc_lagren2.jpg

The pistachio soufflé

I have to say, I'm a sucker for a soufflé and it just happens that it's La Grenouille's specialty dessert. Trust me, it's well worth the twenty or so minute wait.

They offer so many soufflés in so many enticing flavors like Grand Marnier, pistachio, hazelnut, passion fruit, pear, raspberry, caramel, coffee and of course, chocolate. If you don't see your favorite house specialty on the menu that evening, they'll prepare your choice at your request. Now that's service!

I chose the pistachio. It arrived perfectly puffy and tasted divine. Also included with dessert is a cookie tasting plate.

mc_lagren3.jpg

Now that I shared a small taste of my fine dining experience with you, here's my quickie review...

The Good

Exquisite French haute cuisine.
Fantastic wine selection.
Exceptionally attentive service.
Luxuriant décor and ambiance. Lavish main dining room, upstairs café and separate bar room. Beautifully appointed fresh floral arrangements. Take a Virtual Tour!
Conveniently located in the heart of Midtown at 3 East 52nd St.
Easy to make a reservation via Opentable.

The Bad

Dress code: Men are required to wear a jacket.
Pricy $$$$$ and worth it! 🤑

The Ugly

None! Just yummmm! 😍😋

The Official @michellectv STEEMIT FOODIE FIND Rating Score is 5 / 5 PLATES! 🍽️🍽️🍽️🍽️🍽️


For my foodie friends, this throwback video of La Grenouille in 1987 is worth a watch!

Wishing you a Happy, Healthy & Prosperous 2018! 🥂

Thanks for commenting, upvoting and resteeming this post! I hope my post will inspire you to treat yourself to something delicious! Until next time...

Bon Appétit!

Michelle

xx


P.S. If you enjoyed this post (and I hope you did!) FOLLOW @michellectv for more Fun, Food, Drinks, Beauty, Travel & Style! ❤️


In case you missed 'em...

CELEBRATE JANUARY ❄️ WITH MY TOP 10 ❤️ FAVORITE JUICY DRINKS! 🍑🍌🥃

Link: https://steemit.com/food/@michellectv/celebrate-january-with-my-top-10-favorite-juicy-drinks


Why I say "YES" 👍 to NEW YEAR'S GOALS and "NO" 🙅 to RESOLUTIONS! 😎👯

Link: https://steemit.com/life/@michellectv/why-i-say-yes-to-new-year-s-goals-and-no-to-resolutions

NEW YEAR'S EVE POMEGRANATE GINGER CHAMPAGNE COCKTAIL 🎉🍾🥂 (RECIPE + VIDEO TUTORIAL)

Link: https://steemit.com/food/@michellectv/new-year-s-eve-pomegranate-ginger-champagne-cocktail-recipe-video-tutorial

Sort:  

When I saw the word "grenouille", I immediately thought, "Whoa, did you really try eating a frog?". It definitely caught my attention! Nothing wrong with it, it's part of the French cuisine after all, but just got curious.

I have to admit I haven't heard of the place but now I'm interested, thanks to your review and for sharing the video! You have so many excellent restaurants in NYC that it's hard to keep up. I wish I could go more often. Had some wonderful foodie experience last October so I shouldn't complain.

It's amazing to watch the video. From 1987? You'd think that we're now in a modernist world but in reality, they already knew what they're doing even back then. Amazing and precious! I'm learning a lot and doing a lot of experimenting in my kitchen but that video puts me in my place ... it's like, what do I know???

Thanks for sharing!

Haha! Yes, it's a fancy French restaurant actually called The Frog 🐸.. hehe. Gotta love a sense of humor! They do serve frog, but I could never order frog legs. Had a pet frog when I was a kid.

That video is a like a time capsule and so is the restaurant. Still looks the same. The only other restaurant in that neighborhood that I can think of that's still open from that heyday is the Rainbow Room at 30 Rockefeller. Nice and lovely but the food / service / value isn't as impressive as La Grenouille. I would certainly recommend The Little Frog to someone visiting the city.

Looking forward to your next beautiful food post! ; )

Looks like a really delicious meal! The virtual tour is also really cool, and that soufflé... I kind of want to cook up a whole giant soufflé now and bury my face in it! 😋😁

Oh my! A soufflé smoosh... how naughty and decadent! And yes, that Google maps tour inside the restaurant is very cool. I couldn't have captured it better!

Nice post! Thanks for sharing your cusine experience from New York city. I must admit that your foods are awesome, especially the JUICY JANUARY, I love to taste that healthy looking drinks. I follow and upvote you.

I was absolutely captured by the photo of stunning tartar, the caviar was so tempting and it reminded me of my first time having caviar in Khao Lak while I was travelling. Even though I know it's not cheap to have such exclusive ingredients to be platted and to be devoured, but I am sure that it's worth it :D I am glad that you're enjoying it and I totally understand how does a foodie like us feel when we are fed with something that enables to have a moment of silence. Looking forward to see more from you!

Haha! Yes, if you're not speaking through your meal that's usual a compliment to the chef! I'm glad you had the chance to try caviar on your travels. ; )

Exactly, I tend not to be chatty especially I am having a very good meal! I'm just too focused on my plate of food haha.

Pricy but looks worth it...great food. Snapper tartare!!! OMG! The ambience is beautiful. Great review and post.

Thanks a bunch, Tess! ; )

Looks so yummy! I'll have to try it someday, I always hear people talk about their animal fries and never know what they're talking about.

Hopefully you'll enjoy it! ; )

Congratulation

Today one year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)

wish you too happy healthy and prosperous 2018. nice article

Thank you! Cheers to you! ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71