Damn, a place that can do pasta in South Korea

in #food6 years ago (edited)

36199889_1948902765142224_1347037963208359936_n.jpg

This was the day before the World Food Festival. After we arrived in Seoul, it was about eight pm, and we were hungry as hell. So, my friend looked up some restaurants near the hostel and found an Italian place. Now, usually, pasta in Korea comes in two kinds, super thin white cream sauce and super sweet watery tomato sauce. I had my speculations about going, but I didn't want to have basic Korean food when we are coming all the way up to Seoul. On top of this, she showed me some photos of the place that was more pleasing to the eye than what I generally think of Korean Italian food. You can check out their Trip advisor page linked below.

Urban Garden

36251039_1948902791808888_3790825297515905024_n.jpg
!steemitworldmap 37.567385 lat 126.969135 long Urban Garden d3scr

When we walked into the place, I felt underdressed, to be honest. I had on shorts and a t-shirt while my friend was wearing a dress. I'm sure the wait staff thought we were on a date, which we weren't of course, but if we were, I should have dressed better lol They were couples on dates, some people having business dinners, and women having a wine night together. It had a vibe to it that reminded me of my restaurant back home, I little upscale but still a very chill place. All it was missing was some soft live jazz in the background to set the mood.

35236435_1948902811808886_5152233830454657024_n.jpg Does anyone else agree that it feels a bit upscale?

We ordered our entrees and asked for a wine menu. I thought it was kinda weird that they didn't give us a wine menu right away, but then again, I was in shorts and a t-shirt. They probably expected me to get a German beer or something in that vein. However; my restaurant back home had wine tastings, so I learned a thing or two about pairing my booze lol

I said before we got to the place that if they have a rose pasta, that is what I am getting. Sure as shit, top of the menu salmon rose pasta with broccoli. Ordered that right up and a glass of their house chardonnay after the appetizer of bread came out.

36188475_1948902845142216_5572420436756529152_n.jpg This bread was freaking awesome, it seemed as though they had heated it back up in an oven before cutting it to serve. And the balsamic vinegarette sauce to dip it in was spot on. The veggies on the side there are just pickled radishes, slightly pickled cucumbers, and some peppers. After that, I thought I had time for a quick smoke, but as soon as I came back, the wine and pasta were served. The cooking time was quite fast, even for pasta and fish!

36087402_1948902828475551_846702534109167616_n.jpg

The presentation is beautiful (it practically always is in Korea), proper nesting of the noodles, the meat evenly placed out, the plate is not broken and garnished nicely. The only this that really matters though, does it taste good? The answer to that is yes, obviously I have been kissing this places ass since I started writing this post. If I were to order a rose pasta back home, this would be up my alley of what I would expect. The rose sauce is creamy, and with a sweetness to it, that is brought out more by the chardonnay. Everything, from the noodles to the broccoli and salmon was cooked just right to be done but not mush.

This place was impressive to me. I usually avoid 'Italian' restaurants like the plague in Korea, because I am met with disappointment. This place, on the other hand, is doing it right from my perspective. It may not be legit Italian food, it is way more on the end of American-Italian food, but it is a step better than what I usually get here. If you come to Seoul looking for some pasta or want to impress a date, I recommend this place to satisfy your needs.




I tend to write about life in Korea as a foreigner, food, photos from trips, and things teaching related. If that interest you and you like this post, please give me a vote and follow
Fellow minnows can use Busy and Steemfollower to get more upvotes and followers, my referral links are below respectively:
https://busy.org/i/@mr-bike
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14715
Until then,
Ride on!

DQmXf3NuiWNi6msKVT3qx7QYdaY9DerStDE6yqYp3pc2gmz.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-25T02:04:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 143.00/200.00
Total Photos: 22
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mr-bike
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=damn-a-place-that-can-do-pasta-in-south-korea


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @gug711

That sounds like something I would want to try as well. It's a lot of serving, too. No photo of you and your friend? :D

It was pretty filling and delicious :) No, maybe before she leaves I will take a selfie together for here lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56