Bourbon Peach Burgers!!!

in #food6 years ago

I am finally remembering to type up my entry for @shadow3scalpel's "Meat and Beer Grilling Contest"! Well, since the contest involves all alcohol really, I went with bourbon, because "Southern Cast Iron" magazine had a fancy schmancy recipe in its July/Aug issue that I really wanted to try out.

IMG_9791.jpg
Voila, a "cocktail burger union" deliciously grilled with bourbon in the patty, bourbon in the peach glaze AND bourbon in the caramelized onions. All photos were taken by me.

Because I am being lazy efficient, here is the recipe in all its magazine glory:

IMG_9857.jpg
Yeahhhh...mine didn't look quite like that, obviously.

The main difference here is that I cut the recipe in half, and made 4 1/4-lb patties instead of the 1/3-lb patties that the recipe calls for. Also, I shortsightedly only bought 1 peach at the grocery store, and alas, alas! when I sliced it, I discovered that it was so horribly bruised that the insides had turned to mush. The chickens happily gobbled it, but it really was inedible for burger purposes. At least I had the peach preserves that I canned last year, for making the glaze.

IMG_9778.jpg
Peach preserves + alcohol = easy boozy glaze

I made up the patties with the assistance of my two best darling helpers, who excitedly went to the garden with me to pick fresh oregano :) and then of course Pixie had to add the ingredients. Little Man lost interest after the oregano picking expedition, and wandered off to sing "How Far I'll Go" in the playroom.

IMG_9775.jpg
Adding the bourbon

IMG_9776.jpg
Time to fry this onion!

I have this recipe to thank for introducing me to the joy of caramelized onions with a splash of bourbon. Oh my... the Husband and I agreed that our favorite component of the meal was the dang onions. We could just eat them by themselves. It's seriously how I'm going to always make them from now on.

IMG_9781.jpg
Cooking down the alcohol

Of course, anything involving grilling involves the Husband, who is a good sport about obligingly being the grillmaster whenever I want to go on new recipe ventures.

IMG_9783.jpg
Brushing on the glaze

IMG_9787.jpg
As a side note, this occasion marks the very first time I ever bought Brie cheese in my life. My mother never once bought it either. Talk about trying new things.

And there you have it, a very tasty (I assure you) although unusual burger. We liked it enough that we'll definitely make it again!

IMG_9792.jpg
Meat, check! Booze, check! Grill, check!!

Sort:  

bourbon and onions? Who knew! I'll be trying that soon. I wonder if adding a bit of bourbon when cooking onions for French onion soup would be good. Hmmm.

It might be an interesting taste twist in the soup! I'm used to caramelizing onions with more butter than this and a bit of sugar, so I was doubtful at this version, but the alcohol evaporated pretty quickly out of that hot skillet and left a tasty glaze behind on the onions :)

This looks delicious, and makes me regret selling my grill ! Thanks for starting this contest and participating as well.

Get a Foreman grill! :))) Thank you, too!!

That looks heavenly! Great food pics, made my stomach growl.

Thank you very much! :)


Hey! You have earned some Globies this week! Unfortunately we don't have a current Waves wallet address for you. If you still need to set one up, start here https://waveswallet.io, and then message your wallet address to @freedompoint. If you have one already please send it a.s.a.p so we can release your rewards.Come join us on discord!

image.png

Not a big red meat eater myself. I'm not Vegan, I just don't care for the taste and it is hard for me to digest... peaches though? Love 'em.


So, if I was over visiting I would not refuse that tasty burger! I don't believe Burger KingTM could come up with something that scrumdeliouscios!

Congratulations @mtnmeadowmomma! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

dont know why it took me so long to comment thought I had already lol, But seems delicious, I have had a bourbon burger at Dennys but not sure if same thing lmao. Good luck to you though I think no contest lmao

Congratulations @mtnmeadowmomma! You have received a personal award!

Steemit Veterans
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mtnmeadowmomma! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mtnmeadowmomma! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87