Kombucha Brewing, Phase 2

in #food7 years ago

Thankfully no one walked into my office as I worked on phase 2 of kombucha brewing: FLAVORING and BOTTLING. That might have been awkward to explain… It's been brewing for 10 days and tastes about right (I think), nice balance of sweetness and vinegar. I took the SCOBY out along with 2 cups of kombucha for the next batch.

20170727_123626.jpg

FLAVORING: Since I make my own ginger ale (more on that in another post), I already have homemade ginger syrup on hand along with some lemons - it was easy go to first choice of flavoring. I went with 2 Tbsp ginger syrup and 1 Tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice.

20170727_125257.jpg

BOTTLING: I scrounged up a few plastic bottles from the recycling (the blog instructions that I'm using recommends plastic for the first couple time since it's easier to tell when it's fully carbonated, I plan to switch to glass later) and bought a filter at the auto shop (it was convenient since I was already there for engine oil). The tricky part of bottling was pouring from the gallon size jar (not easy to maneuver) into a filter with a mesh filter inside.

20170727_131402.jpg

The bottles need 1-3 days to carbonate before they're ready to drink and I'm excited to see how the first batch turns out!

Sort:  

Awesome 👏🏼 if I drank it, I would brew it too. Still learning to like da drank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61046.72
ETH 2926.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69