Cow's tongue: A taste of Sendai, Japan

in #food7 years ago

Took a little trip to Sendai with my family. One of the things Sendai is known for? Cow's tongue.

We stopped at a shop called 牛タン若, a quiet and casual dining spot. One thing I really liked about it, was you could order drinks, beer, wine, Shochu and whisky drinks and it was non-smoking. Which I tend to think is hard to find in Japan.

image
A close up of some grilled cows tongue

image
10 bucks will get you cows tongue, rice and soup. Not too shabby for dinner.

image
We also ordered another side of cow's tongue in miso. My daughter really enjoyed that one.

image
My daughter mentally preparing for the food to come.

If you enjoy cow tongue and are looking to throw down big bucks on some fine dining, this isn't the place. But if you want a cheap relaxing place to try something new, it's a great spot.

image
Outside the shop.

Sort:  

We eat buffalo tongue here. Really tasty when cut into small pieces with light seasoning of pepper, masala and salt.

@tagsplanet - that sounds really good. I've had buffalo burger which I really enjoyed but no other part of the buffalo. If you don't mind me asking, what do you call it in Nepal? (In case I can ever visit)

In Nepal, sepcially in Kathmandu, there is a special variety for each part of the buffalo from head to toe. The tongue is called "jibro", pronounced "g bro".

Awesome! Thanks for sharing! Hope I can try it some day.

My pleasure. Maybe take a holiday here when you've made enough money on Steemit

Lengua is one of my favorites dishes here in the great state of Texas..

@satx210 - what kind of seasoning? I'll definitely have to try it when I go to Texas in the future. (My father's side of the family is from there and my wife lived there for some time as well.)

Thanks!

Some salt,pepper, a couple tomatoes, onion and cilantro and lots of garlic in a crockpot. leave over night and enjoy it with some over easy eggs and tortillas for breakfast. 🤤🤘🏽

cow tongue is good its more for diet and tasty:) and ye i prefer cheap place not expensive :)

Wow! Great, is it main dish of sandai Japan?Is it an island? I want to know more about Japan it's culture, it's people so please tell me some more about your country. Have a great day friend happy steeming.

@maya7 - thanks for reading. Yes, Sendai is very famous for the cow tongue. Funny enough, most of it is imported from Australia.

Sendai is also well-known for abalone as well:
image

The pictures are great and the food looks delicious. I never knew people eat cow's tongue :)

@practicaleric - thanks! I recommend it - if you can get your hands on it. When cooked well (often time open grill over a flame - it's really tender.

Thanks for checking out my post!

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture competition. Good Luck

Actually when I heard it's cow's tongue, I wouldn't dare to try. Anyway, I'm going to Japan soon, so maybe I'll try one bite? haha

@travelingtaka - definitely worth a try! If you go to "Yakiniku" (BBQ) you can try all the different parts, such as regular meat, heart, liver etc.

meat I'm fine, but heart and liver? I don't know if I'm dare to try, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70