Dabai for soap making

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Dabai.jpg
Photo Credit

Here's an ingredient that I have always wanted to incorporate in soap making. It is native to Sarawak, Malaysia (located in the northwest of Borneo Island).

Rich in healthy fat, vitamin, protein and antioxidant content, these glossy black-colored fruits are not only delicious to eat, but have a lot to offer on skin as well.

Are you familiar with dabai? Let's take a closer look at what it can do for our skin.

Where They Grow
The plants can only be found in Borneo Island, especially in the Sibu and Kapit regions of Sarawak. In my paternal hometown of Kuching, these seasonal delicacies grow wild in the jungle and usually produced by small-scale farmer, bearing fruits in May – June and December – January.

Species
The scientific name of dabai is Canarium odontophyllum. In Malaysia, four Canarium species have been identified with C. odontophyllum as the most common species.

Dabai Soap
The dabai pulp is rich and creamy, resemble the texture of avocado. Adding freshly-pureed dabai will increase the creaminess of natural soap. The fruit is full of healthy fatty acid that rehydrates skin. It moisturize the upper layers of skin and it is good for dry, sensitive and mature skins.

In Peninsular Malaysia, we do not have the privilege to buy these yummy fruits from the fresh market, however, I will be getting these Borneo delicacies in two weeks as my family is visiting me!!

One of the mission of Native Body & Skin is to discover Borneo ingredients and infused them in skin care products so more people know about what this beautiful island got to offer.

I will make a batch dabai soap for the very first time as soon as I receive them from my family. So, stay tuned!

Previous post: How I make a mini terrarium with almost zero cost

Have you tried this unique fruit from Borneo before? Do drop me a comment below!

If you're interested in anything about nature and craftwork, upvote my post, follow me and drop a comment below!


Follow me @natalielo

Sort:  

looking forward to your dabai soaps...

sad we can't get them here, although i don't take them... same like buah tarap... can't get it here in peninsula.

I can't wait to make the dabai soap already! Yea, if we really crave for the fruit, we got to fly to East Malaysia :)

Whoa! These grow native in the Malaysian region? I thought they were blueberries at first. This just shows I need to go to visit Sarawak ASAP. Can't wait to see how this batch turns out

The production of Dabai is in Sarawak mainly. You can also get these fruits in Brunei and Sabah :)

Oh yes in Sarawak there a lot of dabai especially in Miri every pit stop selling dabai fruits, wait for the next post ya.. like your post ✌🏻

Thank you! I will write another post as soon as I receive the dabai!!

I think we also have it here in Sabah. I never really into fruits. But a friend had given me once in the past.

It's really nice to have skill making soap from fruits.
Thanks for sharing.

Yes, my friend told me most of the dabai sold in Sabah is from Sipitang. Will write another article once the dabai soap is made! :)

have no idea what this fruit is XD

You can find them in Kolombong Giant tamu now!

Ahh i've heard of this fruit. Sounds like a brilliant idea to put this as one of your soap ingredients. Hope it'll smell nice too. All the best in ur new soap making! Rmb to share on steemit once done haha :D

Not sure the smell will come through, but the healthy fats, protein and vitamins in the fruit will definitely enrich the soap. Yes, I will post another article once the dabai soap is done!

I didn’t know that dabai can be made into soap! Your sharing is an eye opening. What’s the smell of dabai soap anyway?

I am yet to try the fruit myself, so can't comment too much on the smell and taste :) Will write another post once I have the fruits!

WOAH, never thought this fruit can be incorporated into soap making, @natalielo. With its similar texture with avocado, I really think this will be a fantastic idea! I will be more than glad to be your 'guinea pig' to try it out. Hehehee! :)

Fruits with healthy fats are perfect for soap making! Dabai pulp can be pressed for oil, so does avocado. Avocado oil is already a common ingredient in skin care, so I think why not Dabai? XD

Absolutely mind-blowing! Cannot wait for it!!! :)

How interesting, I actually haven't heard of them before... I'm ashamed to say that... being Malaysian and all... 😜 Look forward to reading about the results and feedback once you have them made! 😊

Don't feel bad for not knowing this fruit, dabai is still an underutilized fruit. :) Due to its short shelf life, this fruit is only sold in East Malaysia.

Was just verbally introduced to this fruit by my brother @emmanuelnukchee’s Sarawakian friend just a few days ago... it’s interesting to know that it mostly found/grown in Miri. Looking forward to your dabai soaps!

You can also find dabai in KK now. My family just bought them from Kolombong Giant Tamu :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67