Do you know shakshuka? You should. Let me introduce you.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago

IMG_20180608_150409.jpg

The fruit truck came around today so I stocked up on some basics (avocados, tomatoes, potatoes, onion and garlic, limones, huevos, mandarinas, maracuya, etc.) and was hungry as hell when I unloaded everything in the kitchen.

I looked around and knew it was a shakshuka day. I had some ganja butter just finishing so I whooped out the chopping board, sharp knife, my ingredients, and a medium saucepan.

I should say, I never give quantities in recipes because everything should be to your taste. Just remember that food is all about balance between four elements: salt, sugar, fat and acid.

So to start heat your saucepan on medium, mid low and dump in some motherfucking spices. I use paprika, turmeric, cumin, black and white pepper, fennel seeds, and red Chile flakes. Spread the spices around with a spatula and mix em up a bit.

Spread them out and leave them be for a few.

I chopped up 5 cloves of garlic and two small onions roughly.

When I felt the spice has thoroughly toasted and the kitchen smells like heaven I pour in some oil. Olive oil, whatever. Any high heat oil will do.

Mix the oil and spices into each other until the oil starts to heat shimmer, then add the garlic and onions. Stir the shit out of them bitches till they are thoroughly coated with the old Spice mix. Spread em out and chop your tomatoes.

Just use enough tomatoes to fill your saucepan. They will reduce quite a bit. Chop em rough and dump them in. Add sea salt and stir it all together gently. Reduce the heat to low, cover the pan.

I opened and stored every ten minutes or so until a sauce started to form. I could have cooked it another half hour or so probably but I was hungry son.

So I made three little cavities and dropped three fresh yard eggs into them, cover the pan again and waited.

It took about six to eight minutes for all the white to cook. Again I could have gone longer but I want the yolk creamy. So I cut the heat and spooned out the beauty you see above.

I finished it with cilantro leaves and lime juice. If I went back and added anything a nice sharp cheese shredded over top would be delicious but whatevs. Foodgasm either way yall. Total cost s/7 or $2.25

Shakshuka 4 lyfe

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-08T21:39:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 26.00/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73