The things we don't eat

in #food6 years ago

It's an interesting observation that was made to me the other day. There are 2 items that I make for people to eat which, I just don't really enjoy.

Not that there is anything wrong with them, I hope. It's more that they just don't do anything for me. Yet, they are probably two of the items most requested for by family and friends after my breads.

The one that I make which I actually enjoy making are my cinnabons. There is a certain bread aspect to them which peaks my interest and is something I am still learning more about, enriched dough. Lovely stuff to work with. Smooth as silk when you get it right.

The second, is, well, it's a bit of a bugger to work. It's my nougat. I like the technical part of it. Getting the egg whites just right, getting the honey and sugar to the right temp. My favourite part of making this is that in summer my kitchen turns into a bee hive. Dozens of bees on me, on my counter in my bowls. I love bees, absolutely amazing creatures.

With all the work that goes into making these two items, I just can't say that I have had more than one slice of my wife's cinnabons, or a inch cubed square of nougat all together. Feels like I put so much love and attention into these, not for my pleasure, but others and that's why it works so well.

Check out this cranberry and macadamia nougat from a short while ago.

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/nedikix-the-things-we-dont-eat-1527618128171.png

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wow this looks soooo delicious!

If you haven't done it yet, we welcome you to join our Discord channel so that we can stay connected! https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Posted using Partiko Android

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71