Homemade (Easy) Baked Beans RecipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago

When the wind is blowing and the rain pouring, I like simple dishes that pack the flavor and satisfy the belly. 

This is my version of homemade baked beans. 

To begin,

I first cook up 2 cups of pinto beans in my clay pot. Once they have finished cooking I transfer them (bean water also) into my cast iron pot. From there I add the following ingredients:

1 tsp salt

1 chopped onion

3 cloves garlic

1-2 smoked sausage links (whatever you fancy)

1/2 cup molasses

1/2 ketchup

1 tablespoon brown sugar (I don't like foods overly sweet) 

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

and a healthy dash of black pepper

After all the ingredients have been added, stir it up......and when you think you've stirred enough, stir some more.

Bake it at 350 for 4 hours or 400 for 2 hours. I always check to make sure there is enough "bean juice" present so you don't end up with burned on baked beans. Add more water if they begin to look dry. Otherwise, let them bake and then enjoy!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68