Chef Wannabe Chronicles | My Very Own Style of Shrimp Pakbet

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I bet all of you guys have tasted different versions of "Pakbet" or "Pinakbet". "Pinakbet" has been known in the Philippines for its palatable taste which ingredients are made up of different fresh vegetables. It usually consists of pork, shrimps or shrimp paste, and vegetables. I have my own version of Pinakbet which I'm going to share with you guys!


These are the ingredient that I prepared.

Originally "Pinakbet" is made up of a variety of vegetables like eggplant, squash, string beans, bitter melon, okra, and etc. There are a lot of ingredients that can be added to this recipe, but it depends which one click on your taste buds. The only thing that is different with my own version, is that instead of using shrimp paste as a flavoring for this recipe, I emphasized the shrimp more which will give a new taste vibe for this dish.

Ingredients:

  • bitter melon
  • white onion
  • squash
  • oyster sauce
  • 1/4 ground pork
  • 1/2 shrimps
  • string beans
  • butter
  • cooking oil or olive oil
  • garlic
  • pepper, salt, and magic sarap to taste

Procedure:

  • Make sure to chop the vegetables and spices into thin size especially the bitter melon if you want to get rid of its bitter taste. I started chopping from the big ones first.
  • Heat the pan
  • You can use a butter to add a soothing gastronomic aroma.
  • Put the spices, like garlic, and onion
  • Stir-fry the ground pork, shrimps, string beans, squash, and the bittermelon. The bittermelon came last because of its soft texture, I don't want to overcook it. When cooking vegetables, always start from the hard ones. xD
  • Add seasoning: oyster sauce, magic sarap or pepper depending on your taste buds.

A time-lapse video of the whole cooking process:


Channeling my inner ninja skills through slicing these veggies.


After channeling my inner ninja skills, time to hit the pan!

I still can't get enough of this, I decided to add music and transition to it.

Here it is, the finished product!

If you love eating veggies like me, then this is definitely a dish for you! You will surely love the taste! Just remember budget-friendly "Pinakbet" packs are available in all leading groceries nationwide! Happy cooking guys! <3

Sort:  

Pinakbet means meal maker?

Nope. lol. It's a Filipino dish. :)

Hi @ninyea. We share the same passion on veggies and I love pinakbet. Shrimps definitely completes the flavor so it's first on my list of ingredients. Thanks for sharing and more thanks for your upvote.

Oh I love it that I’m not alone here who loves cooking! I really love anything that’s shrimp! Lol! Looking forward to see your recipes too! 💕

It looks delicious! Also very creative with the Timelapse! Thank you for sharing with us🤗

You're welcome! You should try cooking this or I could cook it for you. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85