Butternut, Broccoli and Tilapia Fillet Recipe

in #food7 years ago

IMG_20160130_185225.jpg

I like butternut soup but I'm not always in the mood to prepare it so I often experiment with different ingredients and techniques to find a simple alternative way to enjoy it. This time, I combined it with broccoli and served it with tilapia fillet coz it was the only protein I had in the house at the moment. The flavors complemented each other more than I expected because I've never cooked broccoli with butternut before since they have totally different textures. The whole meal took just under 30 minutes to prepare and cook.

Let me know if you ever try it out and whether you liked it.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 butternut squash seeded and cut in cubes
  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 1 tilapia fillet
  • 3 Tbs unsalted butter
  • 2 slices of lemon
  • 1 Tbs minced garlic
  • 1 Tbs dried or fresh parsley
  • 1 tbs dill weed
  • 1/2 tbs salt

Tbs - tablespoon, tbs - teaspoon. Use as much or as little as you like.

Recipe

  1. Heat the pan, melt 2 Tbs of butter and fry the squash for 2 minutes over high heat to glaze, flipping every 30 seconds, try your best to avoid using spoons (I noticed a significant effect when stirring with spoons). Reduce heat to medium hot then season the dish with parsley, 1/4 tbs salt and 1/2 Tbs garlic then flip every 30 seconds for the next 2 minutes.

  2. Add the broccoli and cilantro. Flip twice and cover to simmer for the next 2 minutes (you can use a spoon at this point if necessary). Check for desired softness using a butter knife. If it goes through without too much force, it's ready for serving, if not serve on a plate and put in the microwave for 1 minute (I like it slightly hard). You can also bake it in a 350 F (175 C) preheated oven for 2-3 minutes in an aluminum foil then let it sit while the fillet cooks.

  3. For the fillet heat a pan, melt 1 Tbs of butter add the lemon slices, 1/2 Tbs garlic and fry for 1 minute over medium heat. Add the fillet, sprinkle the 1/4 tbs salt and dill weed, increase the heat and glaze both sides, then reduce the heat to low and cover to simmer for 4 minutes. At this point you can place the lemon slices either on top of the fillet or on the sides, I prefer the top. Discard lemon slices once the fillet is cooked.

Serve hot, with dry white wine. They go perfect together.

Sort:  

You posted a picture that made my mouth water. The instructions are very easy to follow as well. I grow squash, both winter and summer, my favorite is pumpkin. By the way I don't mind sour milk in your pumpkin leaf, cowpea, and sour milk recipe, I've made cheese, yogurt, and cottage cheese...all of them are sour and yummy!

tip! .50

I'm so jealous. I have a small vegetable garden with colored greens, tomatoes, green onions, rosemary, jalapenos, and sometimes when I'm lucky, cilantro.

Great. You'd definitely like Kenyan food then. Every tribe has a different way of preparing the exact same dish. So you'd end up eating the same thing and not even know it. I'll share a couple of Kenyan recipes that can be cooked in foreign countries, especially meats, if you're not vegan.

Congratulations @nyakwada! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69837.94
ETH 3620.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20