How To: 🍋Homemade Mascarpone🥛

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Things around here are getting back to our usual summer routine of keeping ourselves busy over the weekend, trying to take advantage of hubby's days off, and do some adventuring with the kiddos. This weekend was busy, busy, and unfortunately I didn't manage to snap a ton of pictures, but I suppose that just goes to show we were too busy enjoying ourselves and living in the moment.

I do, however, have a quick post that I want to share with you guys. It's a combination of prep, and a hint of what's coming up in my next Tasty Treat Tuesday post, which I have in store for you guys tomorrow.

If you don't know what mascarpone is, it's essentially a type of cream cheese. But it's so much more than that. It's rich, and creamy, and utterly delightful. It's not as thick or as tangy as regular cream cheese. I've bought a tub of it at the grocery store on occasion, and it's not cheap. So when I discovered how easy it is to make at home, I knew I just had to try it out!

Just gather a couple simple ingredients, and you're ready to go!
ingredients

It's as simple as 1, 2, 3.

1. Heat the cream to 190F.

cream

2. Add the lemon juice and keep it at 190F for 5 min.

190

3. Pour the thickened mixture into a cheesecloth-lined sieve, over a bowl, and set it in the fridge overnight.

cheesecloth

That's it.

The bowl underneath will catch the whey, and the cheesecloth will retain your cheese.

whey

Then all you need to do is scrape the mascarpone out of the cheesecloth, and into whatever recipe you are making!

Man, science is cool!

Be sure to check back tomorrow to see what I did with this deliciousness!

In the meantime, does anyone want to wager any guesses?
Sort:  

I haven't made it at home before, but I've been wanting to make tiramisu forever now, if only I had some whipping cream on hand!!!
Looks so good and easy to make :)

Haha yeah, I rarely have whipping/heavy cream on hand, but I knew I was going to be making some sort of cheesecake, so I grabbed a carton. And since I had extra I decided to experiment. Hope you'll give it a try next time you have some!

To be honest I've never bought whipping cream or heavy cream before, so I will make sure to put it on my list next time haha

I said you are wizard @offbeatbroa:) It reminded me of something also simple we make here


Home made, love to eat it with spoon :)

Oh wow, that looks really interesting! I've never made yogurt before... Maybe I'll give this a try! The kiddos love yogurt.

We love to eat it here, also we put it glasses like this this, than it's real domestic and cold, real refreshment
5d82829303e52a37fc5795e8a66289a4_view_l.jpg

thanks for the recipe

Thanks for checking it out!

Do you think this would work with coconut cream too for vegan version? Would be nice to make a vegan tiramisu. Yum.

Hmmm that's a good question. I'm thinking it would curdle, for sure, but I'm not certain it'd come together the same way, because it wouldn't have the same kind of proteins. Might be worth the experiment, though!

I'll add it to my to-try list :) Have a lovely day.

This is great, thank you. And really very few carbs, which is good for me! I love lemon!

Yes, so few carbs, and very little work, for something really tasty! Let me know if you give it a try!

I will do. I love anything with lemon.

Always wanted to cook Mascarpone!
thank you for the recipe! Now I will definitely try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94