Plant Based Banana Bread

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit Friends! If you love banana bread, you’ve got to try my plant based version. The crunchy nutty topping makes it even more delicious!

You’ll love it because:
-it's super moist
-it has a little crunch
-it's full of flavor
-it's vegan
-the topping is incredible!

Ingredients:
1/2 c almond milk or other nut milk
1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 flax egg (3 T hot water, 1 T ground flax)
3 medium mashed bananas
3 T coconut oil (melted)

1 1/3 c flour
1/2 c cane sugar (if you like it sweeter, I would do 3/4 c)
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 c shredded coconut
1/2 c chopped pecans

Streusel Topping:
3 T butter
3 T brown sugar
3 T flour
3 T pecans
3 T coconut

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees (Fahrenheit)
Grease a 9×5 loaf pan with coconut oil
Make your flax egg (mix 3 T hot water + 1 T ground flax) and set aside
Make your yogurt replacement (1/2 c almond milk + 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar) and set aside

In a large bowl combine flour, cane sugar, salt, baking soda, coconut, and pecans

In a separate bowl, combine yogurt replacement, flax egg, coconut oil, and bananas

Fold the flour mixture into the wet ingredients, being careful not to over mix, only stir until barely moistened
Pour into the prepared pan

Mix streusel topping ingredients until well combined and sprinkle over the batter
Bake 55-65 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean

Let cool to firm up and serve warm! Enjoy this little piece of heaven!!

Did you try it? Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Delicious meal ❤

Thank you! 😊 It is very delicious! I hope you’ll try it.

@oregontravel you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

I would like to try it. Sound and looks great.
You are part of my post "Food By Red Fish". Check it out!

@jamjamfood I hope you do try it, you won’t be disappointed. Oh awesome, I’ll check it out, thank you!

I can imagine. It looks so great. I do a similar banana bread, but your recipe is more healthy. ;-)

I'd like a slice of your "Bigfoot" 😁 banana bread, it looks incredibly delish! 😋

@annaskitchen Thank you so much! I hope you’ll try it I thought of the name and thought it was hilarious, so I went with it! I don’t know if other people find it as humorous as I do, living in the Northwest! Lol 😊 I’m glad you saw the humor in it! Thank you for the comment.

You got a 1.99% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @oregontravel!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @upmyvote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-04-18-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Looks amazing! I will have to try!

Funny name for bread. I wonder if big foot is real or not, and if any can be found in Oregon, my home state. Regardless, looks delicious.

@joeyarnoldvn Thank you! I thought it was pretty funny too. If so, I think Oregon would be a likely place with all of our vast forests. :) Thank you, the bread is delicious. I hope you'll try it and let me know what you think. Have a great day!

As long as the forest don't all burn down. What are they spraying in the air from the airplanes?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87