I made a French Onion Soup

in #food4 years ago

I decided to try my hand at an onion soup!!!


xzlbac.jpg


Going on tour last year we all got sick due to not eating any vegetables. Its not that we didn't want to, it's just so expensive. We totally forgot about the fact that we could make some yummy soup????




I love the Chef Movie and now they even brought out a series The Chef Show. One of the bonus recipes they do, that isn't in the movie, was French onion soup. They seemed to enjoy it so much and it looks so simple so I decided hey, I have the basics???

So....

I made a French Onion Soup...

They say to make a onion soup you only really need th below ingredients?

onions (I used 6)
alcohol (I had only 2 shots - Gin)
stock/water
salt and pepper


w0je6z.jpg


For the full recipe however, you will also need:

Thyme
Bay Leaves
Butter
Olive Oil
Flour

(No amounts are given in the video, nor do I cook with them, but to help you I will give you my amounts as far as I can.)


So let's get going!!!

First of cut all the onions. (Thinner is better). Add a splash of olive oil in the pot and chuck in all of your onions.


vly6ot.jpg

17feh7.jpg


The most important is to "let them form their own jam because they are filled with sugar" he says. Have your heat set to low and take it easy.

Do not salt to early, only salt once you see the onions open up and start to turn glossy. (I salted generously)


sk54ep.jpg


When the onions have browned and they start to form the jam add the bay leaves, thyme, a little bit of flour and then de-glaze with your alcohol. (De-glaze is to use alcohol to remove the sugar build up in the pot AKA all the flavour.)

He uses apple brandy to de-glaze but all I had was gin and a lot less than he uses hahahaha.


Onions are Browned, Jam starts to form.

84q035.jpg

Add the Bay leaves.

g25j8i.jpg

Add the Thyme.

u1iz9j.jpg

Add a little Flour.

ihktlo.jpg

Mix it all in.

cxsrm5.jpg

Add the alcohol to de-glaze, if you are adding a lot give it time to reduce before continuing.

w1n2yo.jpg

When everything is de-glazed you will start seeing the pot again hahaha.

7n5wxy.jpg


Then add your stock or water (I used 1000ml water with 2 beef stock cubes. I would have only done it with 500ml but I gots mouths to feed here.) Finish it off with some extra butter and boom!!!


Add the stock.

fupyj0.jpg

Add the butter.

wwnzzf.jpg


Finish it off with some old bread or fresh, toasted with olive oil in the oven and melt some cheese over it if you have to get the full recipe. I did not so I will not cover that. I have some old focaccia that I toasted and here we go, enjoy!!!


i945c7.jpg

1ie0ys.jpg

Sort:  

well done!! Thanx for the invite mate!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @freedompoint on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hey @p1eter! We've manually upvoted your post with both accounts, @build-it.assist and @build-it.curator.

As a matter of interest, there's a tribe on the steem platform known as Build-it that accommodates all DIY, How-to tutorials, and life-hacks respectively.

Your DIY/how-to tutorials get rewarded with the tribe's token known as BUILD upon posting via our website or by using one of the recommended tags; #diy, #how-to, #build-it, #build, and #doityourself. Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram. Are we adding value ? your witness vote will be appreciated! Click here to vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71