DEHYDRATED CUCUMBER EXPERIMENT?

in #food6 years ago

Sometimes, things get a little crazy!


While I was dehydrating some tomato slices, I had an idea... Why not try to make some dehydrated cucumber chips? On their own, they probably would not have much flavor, but I had an idea to fix that.

REALLY?

Yes, really! Not every idea is a good one, but sometimes you won't know until you try. I was dehydrating anyway, and was going to have an empty tray, so I figured I might as well go for it.

Soon, I was making some nice, thin cucumber slices, but I wasn't going to put them directly into the dehydrator. I was going to spice things up a bit and season the, first.

Did you notice those limes in the last photo? Cucumber-Lime is a great combination, and would hopefully give the cucumber chips a little zing!

Rather than just a sprinkling, I gave the cucumber slices a good soak in the lime juice. Soaking something before trying to dehydrate it may seem strange, but this whole concept may seem a little strange too, LOL.

The next step was adding some Tajin, which is a Mexican seasoning that we enjoy. It too has some lime flavoring in it, but the main ingredient is chili peppers, which was what I wanted it for.

I gave the lime-soaked cucumber slices a nice sprinkling of the Tajin too, and they were ready to go into the dehydrator.

At this point we still had no idea what we were in for. Would it even work? Was my effort in vain?

Thankfully, with seven people to feed in our family, my chances that at least someone would like the taste were pretty good. Also, we like eating cucumbers raw like this, so maybe we'd like them dehydrated too...

DID IT WORK?

Well, the dehydrating part certainly did work. There wasn't really much for moisture in the slices by the time I was finished with them.

Even I was a little hesitant at this point, so I figured I'd allow my beautiful wife to be the guinea pig.

She was excited at first, and thankfully that excitement did not wear off. She really, really enjoyed them, and after @mama-pepper, Sweet-Pepper, and Buddy-Pepper enjoyed some, we were only able to save one chip each for the three other @little-peppers.

Even Buddy-Pepper ate his and came back for more!

Yup, @mama-pepper pretty much ate up that whole bowl. She was impressed, which gave me the results that I was hoping for! It looks like we'll be making these again, although I'm not sure we'll be able to save any for winter if they keep gobbling them up like this!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-dehydrated-chile-lime-cucumber-slice

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Dried cucumber 🥒
Taste good ?
Lime with it
I guess so.
Enjoy.

It was good! @Mama-pepper really liked it!

Haha! Love how you used your lovely Wife as a guinea pig :) I'm glad it worked out and everyone liked them! I've got to look into the spice you used? Tajin? Learn somethin' new all the time here.......

We do the same with zucchini and squash! We do this so we can save them without having to can.

Nice! Glad to hear that we are not alone!

Woow !!
Amazing !!!

I have never seen anything like this.
How does it feel?
It looks really good.

I think you could open up a series of yourself like bear Grylls :)

excellent post ..loving to your blog.thanks for sharing..

A really cool idea, @papa-pepper! We like the tajin spice too. But it doesn't quite have enough zing of lemon for me. I have tried cucumbers dehydrated as I thought they might be too watery. Obviously, not! They look really tasty and I will try these soon. You could keep them for the winter but I think you need to hide them from the cucumber nibblers! LOL 🥒

That sir is impressive! I would have never thought of dehydrating cucumbers. That opens up a world of possibilities. Let the experiments begin.

I would have never thought of dehydrating cucumbers.

I go the idea from Seal... he said we've got to get a little bit crazy.

hahahahahaha!!!!

LOL! That's funny.

Awesome. It pays to try out new things, new strategies. I am happy your efforts ain't in vain here. Cheers and congrats.

@eurogee of @euronation and @steemstem communities

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62