HOW TO BEGIN EATING SUNCHOKES

in #food5 years ago

Okay I grew them, now what?


Sunchokes AKA Jerusalem Artichokes are one of those plants that are easy to grow, but they can be intimidating to start eating. After receiving some questions about how to eat them, I share my own personal advice about how to begin to enjoy this plant in your diet.

Since these tubers can be eaten raw, I suggest nibbling on a clean one and seeing if you enjoy the flavor. Personally, I think that they taste similar to carrots when eaten raw. Next, I suggest slicing and dicing some and simmering them in a pan. I used butter to fry these up, and withheld the seasoning, so I could actually get a baseline reading on the cooked flavor of them. Once they are cooked like this, I think that they taste somewhat similar to hashbrowns.

Now that I am familiar with the flavor, I plant on cooking them with eggs, featuring them in burritos, adding them to soups and stews, and periodically enjoying them raw too. One word of caution would be that some people call them "fartichokes" because they can make you gassy, much like beans are known to.

"HOW TO BEGIN EATING SUNCHOKES" VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-eating-sunchokes

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

If you ferment them, you can eliminate the fart factor.

We recommend them to our diabetic friends

Posted using Partiko Android

That’s quarter of your daily iron necessary taken care of and they lower blood pressure too. Very deliciou also.

Wow! Good to know! Thanks!

Shiiit! I was drinking water and I read "fartichockes". Now I'm all wet. Damn fartichockes lol. :D

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL - I'm not sure if you are doing it properly.

Thanks for this video friend. I too was wondering how one would cook and eat them. I am not familiar with these and so this has been very educational for me too. Thanks for sharing this amazing experience with all of us.

Did you get them from @mericanhomestead ? Not these exact ones of course because I know you grew these but did you get the starter plant from him?

No, these were ordered from a magazine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87