KIWANO SEEDS ARE NOW AVAILABLE!!!

in #food5 years ago

They've passed out germination tests!


This one actually took a minute to get the seeds to pass, since they wanted to be a little warmer. Once we placed them on a heat pad, we got 85% germination within a few days. Plus, that last 15% may still go, we just wait for at least 75% to germinate so that they can "pass our test." It's an arbitrary percentage, but I only want to offer seeds that I can vouch for.

WHAT'S A KIWANO AND WHY ARE YOU SELLING SEEDS FOR THEM?

The Kiwano is also known as the African Horned Melon or Jelly Melon. They grow on a vine, and those vines can really produce. They can put out up to 100 fruit, and the vines can even get up to 100 feet long, hence my video about one thing to consider before planting kiwanos.

We first encountered these in the fall of 2015, and we've been saving seeds and growing our w each year since. I like trying new and different foods, and when I find one I like, we usually keep growing it. This is one of those foods. With an exterior that looks like a puffer-fish and an interior like a passionfruit, they are certainly interesting!

Yeah, they look weird on the inside too, don't they? Anyway, since we just opened our online shop this year, we've been hard at work adding more items to the store. It's been fun, and everyone is getting involved, so I figure I'll periodically put out some posts about it, like this one.

If you want to learn more about the kiwano, you can check them out in our shop on the Homesteaders Co-op website. Keep going and keep growing!

Click here to check out the Kiwanos in the Pepper Family Homestead store.

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

Sort:  

Darn! I wish I had waited a couple days to order, haha!
These look so cool!

Darn, now I wish I had waited to ship! I'll try to get you the tracking number tonight.

Haha that's okay. Honestly I should get my greenhouse under control and my spring planting plans solidified before ordering any more seeds anyway. Ill have to order some more in the spring! :D
Ill let you know when it gets here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95