RIPE NARANJILLAS? - THE BATHROOM GARDEN IS PAYING OFF!

in #food5 years ago

Well this is exciting!


Last year we tried growing a new plant, the Narajilla. It's a thorny little plant that I once dubbed "the most savage plant in my garden." It was so impressive, I even made a video about it.

Anyway, these plants are from South America and can take a long time to produce ripe fruit. The plants that I had did set a lot of fruit, but they never ripened outside. When the end of the growing season came and the freeze was almost upon us, I lifted one out of the garden and potted it to bring indoors, eventually giving it a winter home in my "bathroom garden," which @freedompoint was able to check out in person.

Now, after a couple months of continueing to grow in the bathroom, the fruit is ripening. I was so excited that I took the plant outside today for a photo shoot, and soon, we will share our first taste test of this peculiar plant! Enjoy the photos!

RIPE NARANJILLA FRUIT!!!

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

Sort:  

That is awesome. I am so glad that it ripened up. The bathroom greenhouse is going to really catch on!

Man I am so jealous....I'm kicking myself that I didn't bring in my naranjilla! Looking forward to hearing how it tasted!

LOL - I just figured it should at least give us the opportunity, and it did.

Try though I might I have yet to get seeds to germinate. I have tried 4 times over the past few years and each time they refuse to pop. I am jealous of your plant!

I need to find me a naranjilla fruit and taste it! I have never seen or tasted one, @papa-pepper!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72