Coconut Peanut Butter No Bake Cookies

in #food5 years ago

Here's another recipe that was invented out of pure necessity. I wanted to make my beloved and simple no bake peanut butter cookies, but I realized my oat quantity fell very short. With only 1 cup of oats for a recipe that requires 3 cups, I would have to substitute, as there was no way I was giving up on making the cookies.

As I racked my brain (and my cupboard) for a similar substitution, a bag of shredded coconut fell out of the cabinet. Eureka!

The resulting cookies surpassed expectations, and in the future, I will always toss in two cups of shredded coconut. The texture is just right for the cookie, and the additional sweetness and pop of flavor coconut brings is just right. These cookies are highly addictive and never stay around long, but hey, at least they have plenty of protein and fiber.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 cups of sugar
  • ½ cup of room temp unsalted butter, cut in to cubes
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • ½ cup of creamy peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine butter, coconut milk, cocoa powder, and sugar. Stir until ingredients are melted and combined.
  2. Bring mixture to a boil, stirring often, scraping the sides of the saucepan as you stir. Allow the mixture to boil for two minutes.
  3. Remove from heat. Stir in coconut, peanut butter, vanilla extract, salt until fully combined.
  4. Drop by rounded spoonful on to wax paper covered cookie sheet and chill in the refrigerator for at least one hour. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Se ven exquisitas, ah, la necesidad hace el ingenio.

delicious food, for me a little bit he ... he ...

They look like macaroons. I've never had them with peanut butter though. They sound good. I love no bake recipes.

Posted using Partiko Android

They look tasty, but I can't do it . Coconut is one of my no-no's. There are lots of things I didn't like as a kid but find myself enjoying as an adult. Tomatoes being the first one that comes to mind. Some things I have just never been able to enjoy no matter my age. Coconut is definitely one of them. I feel bad too because I know there are many benefits to eating it.

Thank you so much for the recipe and clear instruction of how to make it! I want to try this since no need to use oven. Looks so delicious!

se ve delicioso

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01