Mango Salad

in #food5 years ago

Mangos are one of those things I purchase with every intention of eating, but usually miss the sweet spot of ripeness, and have to throw my mushy mangoes away without a taste of the tropical sweetness that draws me to them in the first place.
The last round of mangos were all perfectly ripe by day 2 on my counter. As much as I love the fruit, not even I could eat three mangos in one go. So I whipped together this fantastic mango salad. It is amazingly full of flavor, and versatile for many dishes. I ended up serving it with brown rice and baked salmon, but this side would also make a great dip for tortilla chips.
If you prefer a spicier take, you could substitute the green bell pepper for jalepeño and the basil for cilantro. But this sweet, tangy, and flavorful version is a must try. Oh, and like most of my favorite recipes, it's incredibly easy to make.

20190603_152402.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 3 mangos, diced
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 green bell pepper diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • juice of 1 lime
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Place the mango, onion, bell peppers, and basil in a large bowl, stir to combine.
  2. Stir in the lime juice, add salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!

20190603_152327.jpg

I highly suggest using this as a base for grilled protien, like fish or tofu. Also great as a side for things like quesadillas.

Sort:  

Salad with MANGOES that seems to be good to have it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love mangos and mango salad but I've never actually made mango salad myself. I like the sound of your version. I feel like cilantro would be good in it as well. Not everyone likes cilantro though.
I have the same issue with eating them when they are actually ripe. Often they are too hard or they are past their prime. The sweet spot timing can be challenging to determine.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looking so spicy and delicious mango salad . I love mango salad . Its have a #amazing taste.thanks for shareing this .

Wow, I love the mango, @pinkspectre! I'm sure I'll prepare this recipe you share with us, it looks delicious. I can imagine the combination of flavors with basil.

Great recipe!! I want to try 😋🥭

Posted using Partiko Android

Mango salad. It's so colorful. Looks amazing. I'll have to try this

Posted using Partiko Android

This is pretty awesome looking. I have not had a ton of mango myself but my wife used to eat it every morning in her smoothie. She would always buy the frozen stuff though. I think I probably would have used the cilantro and jalapeno and eaten it with some tortilla chips. I like the bright colors. It really does look fantastic.

Se ve delicioso

Posted using Partiko Android

@pinkspectre You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75