The Healthiest Burger Ever

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever thought that a burger can be actually healthy and nutritious?

This sweet potato-bean burger in zucchini bun is 100% vegan, gluten-free, oil-free and incredibly delicious!!!

image

Sweet potato-bean burger recipe (serves 5 pieces):
1 small sweet potato boiled
1 can kidney beans (or 200g home-cooked beans)
1 small red pepper chopped, sauteed
1/2 white onion chopped, sauteed
1/4 cup GF oats (or flour of choice)
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp turmeric powder
1/2 tsp ground red pepper
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

Blend the boiled sweet potato and the beans in the food processor, then add the oats and all the seasonings. When it's all combined, stir in the chopped, sauteed red pepper and onion. Form 5 burgers on a non-sticky baking sheet. Bake them in the oven at 210 °C for 30 min, then broil them for another 15 min.

For the bun:
Cut two thick slices of a giant zucchini, roast both sides in a pan on high heat for 2-3 minutes.

Filling:
•Arugula
•Cucumber
•Tomato
•Sautaed mushrooms
•Caramelized onions (with balsamic vinigar and erythritol)

image

I usually prepare a bunch of these sweet potato-bean burgers at once, put them in the freezer and just take them out whenever I feel like eating a burger or when I have no time to cook.

Sort:  

Ohh my God! I like one!😉😀😀🙌

Thanks for your comment, I'm glad you like it :) Yeah, although I love cooking and preparing meals, sometimes I wish I had someone who prepared meals for me like that instead of me staying in the kitchen all the time :D

I understand you completely, the same thing happens to me ... my advice is that from time to time you get a break to those places where they prepare such meals and enjoy.😉

This is exactly what I do, otherwise I would go crazy :D

😀 very true.

Mmm, looks really good. Can't wait to try it. Thank You

You are very welcome, I'm glad you like it! :))

Thank you very much @innerstellar, I really appreciate it! :)

You're welcome. These recipes look amazing!

I will definitely try one of those!

These are so easy to make and delicious :-) I would offer you to make it for you, but I'll probably leave sooner than I could do it :/

Awe, that's sweet. I think I can make these if I follow your recipe. I'll give it a try and let you know how it goes.

yeah, let me know and send me a picture after you did it ;)

i will try it soon. thanks for sharing 😋

You are very welcome, I'm glad you like it :)

I've never seen a plant-based burger with zucchini (love them, especially roasted) but with portobello mushrooms. Seeing this now makes we want to skip right to dinner, although it is 6AM here in Germany and I am definitely a breakfast person :D

Yes, love poetobellos, too😍 But you know, you use whatever you have at home. My grandma grows zucchinis in her garden and she brought 3 huge ones to me so this is what I came up with 😊

Oh ! Zucchini instead of buns, great !

Yes it is soo cool! I like zucchinis and this is a perfect option to avoid wheat flour and make it healthy 🤗💛

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm a vegan so you already know my mouth is currently watering for this burger of love and delight. Thanks a bunch for putting the recipe up as well you are so appreciated.

I did not know, to try, thank you

You are very welcome :)

Wow that looks good. I feel like I want to be vegan haha

You see, veganism doesn't nees to boring ;)

the problem is expenses and lot of food prep. you should do a blog on how you keep with your expenses and how much time into prepping

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68