Double the Garbanzos! {Chickpea Fries & Crackers}

in #food5 years ago

This post goes out to my patient gal pal @puravidaville. We chatted a little ways back about how awesome chickpea fries are, but then I slacked off and didn't get a chance to post my experience making them! Well, I suppose it all worked out because I have not one, but two recipes utilizing chickpea (aka garbanzo bean) flour. Not only am I serving up some fries (are they still called fries when you bake them?), but also some crackers. Both are vegan, gluten-free, and packed with plant-based fiber and protein! How's that for a nutritional smackdown?

IMG_20190226_181402703.jpg

I adore chickpeas in their whole form, but have also really started enjoying experimenting with the flour. The flour is also known as gram flour or besan, and it is quite popular in Indian cooking. I'm only just scratching the surface of all the different ways you can use it, but I'm very much looking forward to diving in to explore it some more! I also used another great gluten-free flour option in the crackers--quinoa flour. This one is really new to my kitchen, as well, but it is fun to play around with the little pseudo-grain powerhouse in a different form just like the chickpeas. Both are great ways to turn two items (fries and crackers) that are normally pretty unhealthy into something you don't have to have any guilt enjoying.

I'll start out with the chickpea fries since those are the ones I hyped up in my comments. I have wanted to try making these ever since trying some at a local restaurant (Marlow's Tavern). Of course theirs are a bit decadent as is most restaurant fare, so I wanted to see if they would still come out well at home. Most of the recipes I perused online for inspiration all fried them in at least some oil, but I opted to make them even healthier and baked them instead. Luckily the ingredients are pretty inexpensive, so I figured at worst I'd have to start over from scratch and try again. To my delight, they baked off just fine! Just as delicious as I hoped, and so simple to make. You just need to start the batter a bit early to let it set, as I failed to do the first night I wanted to make them. No matter, they were well worth the wait.

Baked Chickpea Fries

Makes 16 fries

  • 2 cups water
  • 1 1/3 cup chickpea flour
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon of your favorite seasoning (I used a Turkish blend this time)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt (optional)

Lightly oil an 8-inch by 8-inch casserole dish. Bring the water just to a boil, then remove from heat and whisk in the remainder of the ingredients. Poor out into the prepared dish and spread out evenly with a spoon. Place in the refrigerator to set for about 4 hours or overnight.

IMG_20190226_104556756.jpg

Once your batter has set (similar in texture to polenta), flip it out onto a cutting board and slice into 16 even fries. Line a baking sheet with a silpat liner or parchment paper and spread out your fries to bake. Place into a pre-heated 350 degree Fahrenheit oven.

IMG_20190226_173544272.jpg

Cook for 20 minutes on the first side, then carefully flip and bake for an additional 20 minutes. They should puff up just a bit with a slightly crispy exterior and soft interior. Let cool slightly then enjoy! I made a bit of a spicy ketchup with some chipotle chilis for this batch, but I can see so many sauces being good depending upon which herbs and spices you use in the fries!

IMG_20190226_181439032.jpg

On to the crackers! The nutritional yeast in these gives them a nice cheesy flavor without the dairy. Just as with the fries, feel free to play around with the herbs and spices you add in for a different flavor combination every time!

IMG_20190303_175219507.jpg

Chickpea & Quinoa Flour Cheesy Vegan Crackers

Makes about 24 crackers

  • 1/2 cup chickpea flour
  • 1/2 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/4 cup hemp hearts
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried dill (or other herb you enjoy)
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons water

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk together the dry ingredients, then stir in the water. You want a sticky batter that's not too runny. Spread out your batter onto the baking sheet as thin as you can get it without any holes in the batter. Try to keep an even square or rectangle so it is easier to cut into roughly the same size crackers.

IMG_20190303_173010513_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

Place in the oven and cook for 20 minutes. Remove from heat and cut into squares so it is easier to pull apart once finished. Place back into the oven and bake for an additional 20 minutes. Once they are starting to brown around the edges, turn off the heat but leave the crackers in the oven for 30 minutes to an hour to continue to dry out and get crispy as the oven cools.

IMG_20190303_173043903_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

These were perfect this week with my beet stew! Of course you can't go wrong with extra chickpeas and dip these into homemade hummus. 😉

I hope you guys give these a try and enjoy them as much as we did! Do you have any favorite recipes utilizing either of these awesome flours?

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

There you go again, creating some mouth-watering yumminess. These look like the perfect thing to throw in the lunchbox or enjoy with a meal.

Thank you again!

!tip

Thank you my friend! These both came out so well I couldn't help but share. Gotta love some easy recipes to make healthy eating almost effortless. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I do love them! Thank you so much!!!!

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Oh, I love these things. But I never cooked it - I buy in the store))) Of course, not exactly the same. But very similar in appearance)))

I've seen some similar crackers before, but a lot of times they are so expensive! Takes a little longer to make them at home, but definitely much cheaper. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I saw your cover photo and immediately jumped down here to drop a line… yay… here are the fries we’ve been waiting for… alright, be right back. Going back up to read your post 😉

Yum, all around yum! Those crackers browned nicely too. I just made some crackers not that long ago that had difficulty browning. Now I’m on a whole new eating kick so I can’t make the crackers I made before not can I have chickpea anything… big fat boooo. But hurray for feeling a heck of a lot better. I’m making cauliflower falafel and cauliflower hummus as we speak. Obviously my chickpea addiction is not going down quietly. Haha… great post my friend! I bet those fries would be delicious dipped in some guacamole 😋

First no potatoes, now the chickpeas?? That is a bummer. Worth it though if you are feeling better! Hopefully some day once your gut gets all happy again you can get a chance to try these because they are delicious! I'm sure guac would be fantastic with the fries. I still have a hard time getting all of the moisture out of the crackers to stay really crisp if there's any leftover, but they still taste darn good to me. I hope your cauliflower goodies came out delicious!

Posted using Partiko Android

The cauliflower goodies turned out really good. I thought I would have trouble with the extra moisture in the cauliflower too but I just baked them at a moderate temp for much longer and crisped up perfectly. (Is crisped up a word 🤦🏼‍♀️). A couple of days ago I made radish home style roasted potatoes radishes. The first couple bites were delicious but as they cooled they lost their crispness and gained their radish flavor. I wonder if soaking them in water would enable them to crisp up more. I might try to work with them one more time. Maybe a hash brown would work better… I’m rambling… either way when chickpeas are given the green light again, I’m all over this recipe.

I think crisped up is an appropriate phrase, so I'm sticking with it! It really is fun to see with a bit of patience and experimentation you can really find so many ways to make your favorite foods suit your needs.

I only tried roasting radishes once, and wasn't super stoked about how they came out. It would be interesting to see if the water soaking helps. I use them a lot since they are so abundant at the farmers market here, but tend to eat them raw or in a stir fry most often. I just got a few varieties this morning and I'm thinking about trying to ferment some maybe. I've got my second round of beet kvass going, so fingers crossed that experiment works out better this time!

Posted using Partiko Android

🤞I have mine crossed for you. The radish potatoes are not like potatoes at all. Sometimes I can get away with potato substitutes but I don’t think the radish is a winner. I was thinking about juicing them instead… I’ve read they have a lot of benefits that support your thyroid when juiced. We shall see. I’m still jealous of your rutabaga access over there… if I could only find jicama here I’d try to make some jicama fries and see how that turns out. I find it funny the things I can’t seem to find here but really would think they’d be in abundance. 🤷🏼‍♀️

Hemp hearts are amazing! I make a hot "oatmeal" type breakfast. They are pretty hearty for sure. I will have to give this one a try for the things we like a little bit of "bread".
Ren

They are so great, aren't they? I love the flavor, and they can be used in so many ways. I may have to make a flatbread type concoction out of this mix if I can, too. A great way to enjoy bread without using over-processed white flours. :)

I was just thinking about that. I miss crackers so much.

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: I Raise My Glass To Friends Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

you make healthy eating look so god with such cool treats

Thanks for the compliment! I am always happy to help inspire people that eating well doesn't have to be hard or super restrictive. There's all kinds of ways to make your favorite treats just a little bit healthier!

Posted using Partiko Android

When I retire and have more free time, I will be going through many of your recipes that I have bookmarked and be trying so many of them :)

Aww, fun! There is so much inspiration all around on here, that you could spend every day cooking and not get to try it all!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes indeed, scrolling the feed on here tends to make one hungry LOL

Oh these crackers look delicious !!! I am definitely trying this but need to check first if we have all these flours . We might but probably expensive...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I would think the chickpea flour shouldn't be too hard, just look for it under the other names of besan or gram flour. But then again I have no idea what you might be able to find near you. It's actually really inexpensive here. Quinoa flour might be harder, so perhaps next time I'll play around with some different options for possible substitutions.

Posted using Partiko Android

(are they still called fries when you bake them?)

Eh, good one! You sure are good at documenting all of your ingredients and steps, chef, what are ya?? Writing a book or something?

And you already know what I’m gonna say right here about today is Thursday and not Friday.... 😉

I totally thought about setting this post to hit tomorrow, but then I hesitated because I have a jam-packed day from morning to evening. I didn't want to be the jerk that jumps into the Friday ring for the first time then dips out without some engagement on the other contenders! 😂 A girl's got principles.

I will make you a promise I will eventually get in on the FFF action... just no promises when, haha!

And thanks for the compliment. I made the crackers twice this week just to make sure I had the ratio right. 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73