SUNDAY ROAST - If you don't have an "Up The Arse Beer Can Chook Cooker" - You need to get one!!

in #food6 years ago

Roast 1.jpg

Seriously, this is the best ever Sunday Aussie Roast. Everybody should experience this once in their life!
Having a Roast Dinner is somewhat of an Aussie tradition which is sadly dying out as time goes on.
Maybe this can inspire a few people to have a Roast Chook (chicken) every now and then.

Now before I explain it, I want you to try something first.
Try saying "Up The Arse Beer Can Chook Cooker" quickly 5 times ........... Ha Ha.

Righto, so what the hell am I talking about and what is this product?
There are few of them on the market - just search "beer can chicken cooker stand".

This is the one I use:
Roast 1a.jpg

Step 1.
Open a can of your favourite beer and drink about 1 third of the can (if you're an Aussie you'll probably drink all of the 1st can so just open another one and try to restrain yourself this time!!)

Handy tip - They say you can use other beverages such as Coke, Rum & Cola, Bourbon & Cola etc. but I haven't tried them so can't comment.

Step 2.
Prepare your chook with the seasoning, stuffing and marinade you prefer - it will still taste really great if you just use the beer.

Step 3.
Carefully position the open bottom ("arse end") of the chook over the beer can and manipulate it downwards so the whole beer can in covered.

Step 4.
Position the stand with chook in the centre of a large foil baking tray (I used a normal tin baking tray because I was out of foil trays - messy to clean up so I strongly recommend the foil option and just throw it away when finished)

Step 5.
Start the cooking process. Place the tray in the centre of the cooking area.
I cook at 200 degrees C (about 390 F) in a Hood Covered Barbeque but a normal oven works fine.
At this temperature, I allow 30 minutes for each 500 grams - so a 1.5 kilogram chook takes about 1.5 hours.

Step 6.
Prepare your vegetables for roasting and steaming / boiling.
For roasting we had - Onions sprinkled with Wild Bush Herb Salt - Potatoes a Rosemary & Garlic coating and Carrots flavoured with natural Australian Honey.
Peas boiled with natural mint finished it off.

I normally put the vegetables in to cook about 25 minutes before the Chook is finished and turn them once about half way through. I boil the Peas and make the Gravy at the same time I'm carving the chook for serving.

So here are the photos of the end result.

Beautiful finish - you can see where the beer boiled out the top of the chook and flowed down the skin to create a marinade.
Roast 1.jpg

After carving and serving. The flesh is perfectly cooked and moist from the beer boiling inside it.
Roast 2.jpg

Bloody beautiful! A perfect Sunday night roast dinner. Great combination of flavours.
Roast 3.jpg

After Dinner. Carved up the rest of the chook. It was so moist and tender that even the frame just fell apart at the end. No waste.
This is a good picture showing how the beer can works. There is not much beer left in the can but some of the juices are in the bottom.
Roast 4.jpg

Left over roast chook and vegetables for lunches during the week. You can't get much better than that!!!
Roast 5.jpg
Roast 6.jpg

What are you waiting for???? Start planning your roast for next week - Beef? - Lamb? - Pork? - Chook? - it doesn't matter which one.

BRING BACK THE GREAT AUSSIE SUNDAY ROAST TRADITION!!!!!!
(and if you're not an Aussie, just give it a go anyway - you won't be disappointed)

Plumey Steemit Logo.png

Minnow GIF.gif

Sort:  

Trust me this is a real unique food tradition. I mean this is what I want to see that is totally different from what I have seen before. The Aussies are quite interesting people. You drink beer from your shoes and you shove a can down a fowl's arse. Come on dudes! Get a grip on ethics. Hahahaha :-D

Fair suck of the sav, Mate!
We Aussies are actually the normal ones - it's everybody else that has strange habits ... Lol.

Hahahaha. Nice one!

that looks amazing ive never seen anything like it! gonna get me one of them defo! :)

G'day Mate. You Pommies passed on the whole Sunday roast thing to us Aussies so give it a go, you'll love it!! They're only a couple of quid on ebay.

BTW - I don't think you have enough bling on your blog header, maybe a bit more gold?? ....... Lol

great job getting noticed by @curie they really helped me out on a few posts! Yeah i do a lot of roast dinners just never seen anyone stick a can of beer up a chickens ass! it sounds amazing imagining that beer spouting out the top :)

Can you drink the remaining beer? :D

Chicken flavoured beer?????????????????

Well isn't a 'shoey' just a foot flavoured beer? :)

You're a sick bloke. I live in the tropics and I ain't drinking beer out of anybody's "shoey"!!!

It's a joke plumey. A 'shoey' is something that a lot of millennial bogans do for fun and put on Facebook for their mates to like and comment on.

I am not advocating you do it and it's not something I do haha.

Yeah, I know!! I need to tone my sarcasm down a bit - sorry! (I always seem to take the piss)

Both my daughters are millie-bogans.... and I'm just an old fart trying to keep up with it all.... Lol.

yummy

It was very Yummy!

i believe you

Good job looks like a great cooked chook!

Thank you! Pity you weren't here to enjoy it.

I regret to admit that I have heard / seen this somewhere. It was either a cooking show or commercial advertisement. I did not watch the show or further research the ad.
This was a good description with pics. Very good job @plumey and it looks delicious. Thanks for sharing. I have a new outlook on this cooking method.

You're right, they're certainly not new but the results are outstanding compared to a normal roast.

Despite being vegan so I would never consider eating something like this, your post is very entertaining and well written. Congrats on getting curied!

Thanks and sorry to expose you to this.
This is the 1st time that @curie has upvoted me and the 1st time any of my posts have done this well.
I guess perseverance pays off eventually.

Hey, don't apologise. I didn't have to read it if I didn't want to. You did really well. I'm happy for you. Enjoy it!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Cool chook stand, I bet it tasted amazing, you've inspired me to nag for a roast this Sunday, cheers mate.

Watch that nagging mate......you don't want to have a chook stand inserted in the proverbial!!!

These cookers are great! If you do not have one, it is often possible to replace with a Bundt-style pan. Did that last sunday, was great!

Gotcha, now that I've worked out what a Bundt-style pan is. How do you fit the beer in???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69