Super Easy Homemade Dill Pickles

in #food5 years ago

DSCN8130.JPG

Why buy pickles if you can make it? Why make it if you can buy one ready to eat? For me, it's simple, it's fun to make it at home and I don't have to worry what it's my food. I am obsessed with pickles, I even drink the juice out of the 32 oz jar especially after my workout, it's a good source of electrolytes they say.

One day, I was snacking some pickles and I noticed the jar was almost empty, oh no... it's an emergency. So then I thought, maybe I should make one! I looked up some recipes online o how to make quick pickles, and I was surprised how simple it is to make one. The next day I went to the grocery and got all the stuff I needed.

Most recipes use white vinegar but I looked up online, you can also use apple cider vinegar. I like using apple cider because of the health benefit and the fruity flavor from the fermented apple.

When choosing the cucumbers, I like to buy the Japanese cucumbers because it has an extra crunch compared to the regular cucumbers I always buy for salad. However, you're being thrifty, you can get the regular cucumbers but pick the smaller and bright green ones.

It's always best to use the fresh vegetables and if you're going to use cucumbers don't forget to remove the blossom end to prevent pickle softening. You can also pickle veggies like carrots, green beans, tomatoes, and many others.

For this one, I added some carrots to some of the jars just to see how they come out and they're yummy and crunchy!

Ingredients for each 32 oz jar:

1/2 pound of any fresh vegetables
2 big cloves garlic, crushed and peeled
1/8 teaspoon black peppercorns
a handful fresh dill
1/8 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1 cup warm water
1/8 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  • Wash the vegetables well and pat with a dry towel
  • Slice the veggies
  • Add all the ingredients in an airtight jar, make sure there's enough liquid to cover the veggies. Cover and shake for few seconds.
  • Save in the fridge
  • Pickles can be served as early as three days and can be good for up to 4 weeks.
Check out my recent recipe blogs:


Do you have any recipe to share? Join the contest now!

Contest: Share a recipe & get a chance to win an upvote every day for a week! (Vote depends on the quality of the content)

Rules:

  • One entry per steemian.
  • Paste the link of your recipe blog under comment box (eligible entry: only blog that has been created before the payout date of your post)
  • Tag another Steemian who might be interested in joining the contest
  • Resteem this post

Check Count Down to know when the contest ends.


If you reached this far, I appreciate your time reading, it means a lot to me since not everyone reads the full content and it takes time and draining to write a full blog.


Stay tuned for more recipes!

DSCN9667.jpg



More Recipes For You:

homemade salads.jpg
homemade sandwiches.jpg
chicken rice.jpg
homemade adobo.jpg


homemade sushi.jpg
steak.jpg





Sort:  

I'm too lazy for this

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, I also love pickles in sandwiches, most of all. Once it happened to me the same, I did not have pickles for a salad, with tomato, purple onion, grated carrot and peregil
As I needed the pickles for that moment, I did the same as you, I searched for a recipe online, but in this case, the recipe indicated that you put boiled gherkins with vinegar, water and salt. So I did them, it was not the same as when you let them pick, but they still seemed great to me.

Congratulations @purepinay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Saya suka postingan anda sangat bermamfaat bagi kita

About 29.27$ has been spent to promote this content using Steemium.
Learn more here!

Hi @purepinay!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.342 which ranks you at #777 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 27 places in the last three days (old rank 750).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 181 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @purepinay!

You just got a 0.73% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 14.01% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @steemium!

You got a 12.53% upvote from @spydo courtesy of @steemium! We offer 100% Payout and Curation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94