Chia SeedssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago

imagesource

Chia seeds are a superfood with many nutritional health benefits. Just two tablespoons eaten daily nourishes your body with protein, omega-3 acids, fiber, potassium, iron, calcium, magnesium and antioxidants.

image source

The seeds contain very few calories and may also help in losing weight. Chia seeds helps to fight against cancer, diabetes, aging, neurological diseases and bacterial infections.

Some side effects of eating these seeds are bloating, diarrhea and gas, but I have not experienced any of these. However, you must also drink plenty of water when you are eating chia seeds because they absorb water even while they’re in your body.

The chia seed comes from the salvia hispanica plant and can be a black or white seed. There’s basically no difference in the nutritional benefits of either color. It’s native roots are grown in Mexico and Guatemala.

imagesource

I use chia seeds in my plant-based proteins smoothies and in my homemade protein bars. My body now craves this great superfood when I have not eaten it. It is amazing how the body knows just what we need to increase the nutrients that we are lacking in our diets.

What a great superfood to keep on the shelf and use daily!

image

Sort:  

I knew that chia seeds were a super food, but I had no idea how nutitionally dense they are. Thanks for sharing. That was very helpful.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Awesome info! I guess I need to make a trip to Whole Foods!! LOL

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99