Rocket Stove Cooking: Beef Vegetable Stir frysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago


DSCN3550.JPG

It has been cloudy these past few days here in rain country so when our solar battery bank is not fully topped off, I choose to cook on the rocket stove rather than the hot plates.

Last night I had barbecued up some steaks so tonight I am using the leftover steak in a stir fry with some garden veggies and flowers. Of course one must have a pot of white rice to go with all that!

DSCN3551.JPG

I have said it before and am saying it again, I love cooking on my rocket stove. Soon the rains will come and we will be back to burning fires in our wood stove and that will be where most of my cooking gets done, so for now, I am enjoying this while I can.

DSCN3552.JPG

I do hope you are all having a lovely week! ~Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

I live off grid and a rocket stove is a life saver for me. They are so much faster than starting a campfire. I don't have to worry about timing the coals for fast meals. And the best part, you can make them outta so many repurposed items.

I love to eat flowers in my salads as well, the nasturtiums add a peppery flavor.

I need to get (or make) me one of these :) Nice work!

Patrick attached some bracing bars at the top so we could add that cast iron griddle in order to give us more cooking area, it has really been great. I will be cooking biscuits and gravy on it today :)

That looks so delicious! Now I'm getting hungry..

My husband just saw a video today on how to make a rocket stove. He was so impressed! It made me laugh because I've known about them for years. He's starting to come around the homesteading corner.
I'm going to show him this post. He's a HUGE stir fry lover.

This is a work of art! Looks almost to beautiful to devour 😋

@raincountry, your stir fry looks wonderful. So far I've boiled water on mine, but I don't have that handy cook surface for mine. Great post and I'm so jealous of your rain!

We found that cast iron griddle at our local hardware store in the camping section. Patrick then made some support bars that he permanently attached to the rocket stove to help support it when we have something heavier on one side than the other so it has been pretty handy. I need to share that video here that we did of him making those things!

Looking tasty I like your fireplase :)

This meal looks full of life! Love it! I specially love the nasturtium blooms in the stir fry :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73