Dining Out - The Bun, Saigon

in #food6 years ago

The Bun, Saigon

I'm in at Eastgardens pretty often, and this little place attracts my attention every time, even if I don't end up buying.

2018-06-23 13.28.31.jpg
Display sign under their pick up area. A nice selection of Vietnamese dishes

They make a variety of things, but it seems the main sells are their Bahn Mi, Bao, and the premade vietnamese rolls. Late in the day there's always a few containers on special of their meals from the bain marie too.

2018-06-23 13.28.56 HDR.jpg
Trying not to get too many customers in the photo of the store was difficult, because even though it wasn't actually lunch time, they were busy.

I think I've eaten from here 3 or 4 times now, and each time it's been good. It's a food court shop, so it's nothing super special, but they do reliable really well.

2018-06-23 13.32.33.jpg
I grabbed their bao special. Crispy Pork in one, and Chicken in the other. Under $10

The Bao that I had this time, they were quite good. Nice soft buns, fresh salad fillings, and a decent amount of meat, especially in the crispy pork. Certainly wasn't disappointed in my purchase, and will likely have again in the future.

Last 10 Dining Out Posts

Charlie & Co
Naked Brew
Menya Mappen
Oiden Bowl Bar
Gumshara
The Roses Cafe
Tako Japanese
Khing Thai
Cedars Pizza and Bakery
Burek Balkan Oven


TA Footer Slim.png

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Have you smashed their Bahn Mi yet? A few weeks and I'll be tasting all the Vietnamese food in Saigon 😏.

Not theirs, no. It is something that I'll get around to though. I love them, but just have some really good options near home for much cheaper than this when it comes to Bahn Mi.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Sometimes the "nothing special but reliably good for nice price" places are the best though, especially if they're also quick XD

absolutely. and it sure beats the KFC that's right next to it (and has way larger queues...)

Hm, we do like KFC, but I would definitely pick a place like that over KFC too XD

like most of the chains, I'll eat it, but it isn't my preference. When it comes to KFC specifically, I like their boneless and hot and spicy. Sadly they removed the hot and spicy from 'always available' to just special menu times (at least in NSW and SA where I've been since not being able to get it) Just means I don't go to KFC much at all, because it's not worth it for just the chips and dinner rolls (which have gotten worse since I was in uni)

nice 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @ratticus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86