No Bake, Caramel Pecan Slice - Gluten-free

in #food6 years ago

                      

This is a great little square that can be made ahead and they freezes well too. You'll need a food processor to handle all the mixing and grinding to get the consistency and texture of each layer, just right.

The First Layer  

  • 1 cup of ground almonds
  • 2 cups of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup of pure creamed coconut
  • 1/2 cup of maple syrup
  • 8 tbsp of raw cocoa powder
  • 3 tbsp of ghee (clarified butter)
  • 3 tbsp of coconut oil
  • 1 tsp of vanilla bean paste
  • 1 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • and 2 eggs (beaten)

Directions:

Melt the pure creamed coconut in a small sauce pan over a gentle heat. Add maple syrup, ghee, coconut oil, vanilla bean paste, raw cocoa and the beaten eggs. Blend well and cook over low heat for 3 minutes to ensure that the eggs have a chance to cook while you stir the mixture continually.

In a food processor, grind the walnuts and add the shredded coconut and ground cinnamon. Pulse this mixture so that the dry ingredients are well blended. Add the contents of the sauce pan and blend well.

This will produce a thick dough. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. Add the dough mixture to the centre of the baking sheet and roll out the dough until it covers the bottom of the entire baking sheet evenly. Put the baking sheet in the refrigerator to cool, while you make the next layer. It should look like the photo (below).

                       

 
The Second Layer

  • 2 cups of cashews that have been soaked for 4 hours or more. (Rinse them well.)
  • 1/4 cup of lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup of pure creamed coconut 
  • 1 tbsp of vanilla extract
  • 1.5 tbsp of ghee (clarified butter)
  • 1.5 tbsp of coconut oil
  • and 1 cup of condensed milk

Directions:

Melt the pure creamed coconut in a small sauce pan over a gentle heat. Add the ghee, coconut oil and condensed milk. Stir until the mixture is heated through and is a smooth, creamy consistency. Remove from heat and let stand while you blend the cashews and lemon juice in the food processor. Add the contents of the sauce pan and blend again until the mixture is well combined. Spread this mixture evenly over the base mixture and return to the refrigerator while you make the next layer.  It should look like the photo (below).

                      

The Third Layer

  • 2 cups of pure creamed coconut
  • 1/2 cup of maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp of vanilla infused agave nectar
  • and 40 whole pecans

Directions:

Melt the pure creamed coconut in a small sauce pan over a gentle heat. Add the maple syrup and the agave nectar and blend well. Add this caramel layer evenly over top of the second layer and place the 40 whole pecans equally into the caramel. Return to the refrigerator while you make the next layer.  It should look like the photo (below).

                      


The Fourth Layer   

  • 2 cups of 70% dark chocolate chopped or in wafers
  •  3 tbsp of ghee (clarified butter)
  • 3 tbsp of coconut oil

Directions:

Using a double boiler (or bain- marie) melt the chocolate and add in the ghee and coconut oil. Blend well and then pour this melted chocolate mixture over-top of the caramel and pecan layer. Return to the refrigerator and cool for 4 hours.  It should look like the photo (below).

                      

After 4 hours, the chocolate will harden. Remove from the refrigerator and lift the caramel pecan slice from the baking sheet onto a cutting board to slice into pieces.

                      

The chocolate will darken in colour once it has had a chance to cool and solidify.

                      

This recipe will yield 60 small pieces. Always a crowd-pleaser, enjoyed by young and old alike. 

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey....we will be eating very well. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

I made a post about some of my favorite steemians a couple days ago. You were first on the list! Hope I sent some traffic your way!

Thank you so much @dajohns1420!
I really appreciate it.
I am humbled and honoured to be included in your post. ;)
PS: I LOVE the cmh lights...I bought another one because I saw the difference in my plants...even after one 12 hour cycle. Incredible!

You know how much I envy you and your way of life, don't ya? I love how knowledgeable you are about so many different subjects and how much positive energy you put in to this world. But you have got to QUIT posting these food blogs, sweetie! You're killing me with the pictures and when I read the ingredients, my mouth just starts to water! Now I must go to the pantry and refrigerator so I can be disappointed because I will find nothing similar to what my eyes have just seen.... Great post girl!

LOL! Some day I will make these for you and your family @bluelightbandit. I have to post some recipes every once in awhile, so that I have them recorded and I keep a presence in the food communities. These squares are real winners. I've been eating them for breakfast because they are loaded with good fat and protein.
I made a big tray because I'm taking them to our families' Christmas dinners. If I wasn't sharing them, I would've medicated them. ;)

How I miss your yummy recipes my friend!!
I'm sure you know how busy I am getting these days!
I just hope all fine on your side and stay warm.

Oh, great to hear from you Chef! I have thought of you often over the last 3 weeks. I hope that things are cracking right along for you in your new Bistro. I am so happy for you and @creativewoman. I so want to come and visit both of you...this may be in the cards in the new year. ;)

Rebecca
I had to print these pages for Pat. Imaging that. Ha
The compliments would overwhelm you if everyone could just taste I think.
You give so much to the Steemit community. You are helping to power Steemit to a place of high esteem.
Thank you

Francis

Thank you so much Francis!
Some day I will come and visit and I will make these for both of you.
I feel like all of us are working together as a team to make Steemit shine. ;)

@rebeccaryan - Ma'm I'll try to make it... Of course you are a iron chief... Ma'm I think you should start your iron chief series again...

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Amazing post thank you so much for sharing

Thanks for taking a look @machhour! I made these for a huge family gathering, otherwise, they would have been medicated. ;)

I am like

Ah those look delicious!

Thanks @dajohns1420! They are fantastic medicated too. ;)

@rebeccaryan,
Now I am totally crazy about it! It's time to tell my wife to make! (I wish she could do that lol) It seems amazing, I mean delicious :O Thankn you for sharing all steps with the recipe!

Cheers~

Oh I do hope that one of you makes them, sometime. They are delicious!

that looks beautiful great job! it looks really fun squashing it down with the roller thing i usually just press it down with a glass but that looks more satisfying :)

Thanks @owenwat! The roller is fun. LOL! It doesn't take much to amuse me lately. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58