Recipe: Strawberry Olive Salad

in #food6 years ago (edited)

                      

Often the best recipes are the ones with the simplest of ingredients and the fewest steps.

These are the kind that you can whip up out of thin air in mere minutes, yet they taste like you spent hours calibrated every tantalizing morsel that offers a perfectly choreographed taste explosion within every bite.

Sweet And Crisp With A Touch Of Salty Tang

This recipe has 4 ingredients.

Yeah, 4 and it will serve 4 people.

Ok, here's what'll you'll need:

                      

  • 1 lb or 454 g of fresh strawberries (cleaned of their leaves and quartered)
  • 1/2 an English Cucumber (peeled and chopped into small pieces)
  • 24 black Kalamata olives (sliced)
  • 8 tsp of white balsamic vinegar (Any balsamic vinegar will work but you may have to adjust to suit your personal tastes, as some vinegar is stronger than others. With that said, start with 4 tsp and add more as needed.)

Directions:

Cut all the ingredients into bit size pieces and toss together in a decorative serving bowl. Drizzle with the Balsamic vinegar.

                       

No, seriously that's all you do...then you put a smile on your face and sit down and enjoy your meal and the company that you are sharing it with.

(You're welcome. I love giving people permission to enjoy their own life every once in a while.)

                       

You'll just have to trust me...I mean who eats black olives and strawberries together?

                      

I took all the photos (above) with an Apple 8+ cell phone and I make a concert effort to use appropriate tags.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...we will be experimenting with different flavour combinations along the way. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan  



Sort:  

Great idea @rebeccaryan love this treat you shared with us. Thank you for the inspiration. I would love to have your opinion on my homecooked meals. Thank you and keep up the great work - steem on!

Wow...such a wonderful and interesting post by Rebbecca mam....
I think fresh fruits is vert important to our healthy life...
We always try maintain our healthy life...
Cheers~~

It is true that strabery is beneficial in our body.It cures variety of disease.
Thanks for sharing abot strabery.Your photography is obviouslt exceptional thjat you capture.
Thanks #rebeccaryan
@Resteem,upvote & follow has done.

Wow, a divine breakfast for me...

I don't know strawberrys, olives and vinegar kinda sound weird Rebecca...although that's what I said about chocolate covered potatoe chipsets well and those were life changing.

Rebecca
I just got back in time to see your post. The girls had me out on a wild goose chase. It was raining hard here. But, I am superman. So no problem.
Not even close to that. lol
I see your salad and oh how I could wish. I had similar at the steakhouse.
But, I rarely eat steak. So a chicken salad for me.
I believe I like the looks of yours better. I didn't need the chicken and all the bread. Ugh
I'll have to cut back a lot tomorrow and exercise a lot.
Thank you

Francis

Strawberries and olives are two foods that I love individually but never thought they would work together, I'll keep the recipe in mind! Have you ever tried apples and peanut butter together? Thats my favorite quirky food combo :)

This definitely looks refreshing and tasty! The black olives....hmmm? We love green olives in our house but the black ones are not that popular. I would try it though just because you said "trust me". 🤔

Ohhh, this looks yummy! The black olives add a unique and interesting twist to the mix. To be honest, we don't eat many black olives but love the green ones. I have a similar recipe that I will have to dig up and share with you. Just looking at these pictures is making me want summer to get here even quicker! I read along with Danny the post you shared with him about the phone company hahaha. It sounds like you and him are a lot alike. He deals with all the phone and internet people instead of me. There's been days when I've come home and he was fit to be tied due to dealing with someone on the phone for hours over something. I won't repeat some of the things he has referred to them as :)

I've never been a fan of olives myself, though I quite like a bit of olive oil. But my sister, @andysantics48, who just joined, has a glut of cucumbers at the moment, so I'll pass it on to her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67279.52
ETH 3104.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78