Thanksgiving Is Coming: A Delicious And Healthy Oven Roasted Turkey Thigh

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Thanksgiving Day is a national holiday celebrated in Canada and the United States. It was originally celebrated as a day of giving thanks for the blessing of the harvest and of the preceding year. Thanksgiving is celebrated on the second Monday of October in Canada and on the fourth Thursday of November in the United States. Several other places around the world observe similar celebrations. Although Thanksgiving has historical roots in religious and cultural traditions, it has long been celebrated in a secular manner as well. | source

You might consider me unlucky or lucky otherwise, but I don't belong to either Canadian or the United States nations. Therefore, the recipe below is not authentic, but yet original. At least I may hope it will inspire you to cook turkey your way and enjoy time with your family and friends. Also, since the whole turkey is an overkill for me, this recipe is for a turkey thigh, a juicy and tasty dish with the distinct flavors.

Ingredients

  • 1 turkey thigh;
  • 1 garlic head;
  • pepper, salt;
  • favorite poultry herbs (sage, rosemary, thyme, and parsley might be a good choice);
  • soy sauce (or butter as a good alternative).

Directions

Rinse the turkey thigh and dry it with a paper towel. Put the thigh into a big pan, stuff with the garlic cloves, season with salt (generously) and herbs and add soy sauce. Put into the fridge for two hours.
In two hours get the thigh out, pack it with foil and place into the oven preheated to 200C (400F).

It should cook for two hours approximately (2 hours and 15 minutes in my case).
When time comes uncover the foil and let it roast in the oven for another 15-20 minutes.

After finished, let it rest for some 20 minutes (it also tastes good as a cold dish for the sandwiches and such).
I used to serve it with boiled buckwheat (kasha), but it would taste good with rice or pasta.
Enjoy your dinner!

"Cooking Tip: Wrap turkey leftovers in aluminum foil and throw them out."

—Nicole Hollander

BON APPETIT AND THANK YOU!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!


You might also like my previous food posts:

Heavenly Crepes With Cottage Cheese, Sour Cream and Delightful Berries (Exclusive Recipe And Photoshoot)
Roasted Duck With Green Apples (Something For A Special Occasion)
A Killer Recipe: How To Cook Beautiful Amanitas (Original HQ Photoshoot)
Juicy Roasted Chicken In The Oven: Just Another Perfect Dish With Pasta and Oranges
Kyiv’s River Grill Restaurant: Review and Photoshoot
Positive Food For Breakfast: Perfectly Fried Eggs with Bacon And Orange Juice (Exclusive Photoshoot)
Scalloped Potatoes With Turkey, Bacon, Cheese and Sour Cream (An Incredibly Tasty Viral Recipe Improved Exclusively for Steemit)
Yet Another Great Recipe of Hot Chicken Wings BBQ
How To Make The Best Pork BBQ Skewers (PORK SHASHLYK ON STICKS)
How To Make A Perfect Fluffy Omelette
From Ukraine With Love: Pork Plov (RICE PILAF WITH PORK)
A Kind of Magic Every Man Can Do: Delicious Pancakes With Honey In The Morning
Crispy Skin Chicken With Country Style Potatoes (easy and incredibly tasty dish)
Steamed Dumplings With Strawberries (Original Recipe)
Mushrooms fried with onions (Easy cooking recipe)
How To Cook A Delicious Mushroom Soup (Step-By-Step Guide With Original Pictures)
How to cook delicious tuna steaks fast and easy (Friday night at home ideas)
Chicken wings BBQ with grilled mushrooms, vegetables and chilled wine (Quick and Easy)
Summertime chicken wings BBQ in soy sauce


If you liked my post, please don’t forget to upvote, follow and comment.
All resteems are specially much appreciated :D
Cheers and have a great day!

Sincerely yours, @richman


*** Want to boost your post? Use steemboost ***

Sort:  

Delicioso! You need your own cookbook, @richman. And I want that roasting pan too.

¡Gracias! These are both great ideas!
Cheers!

upvoted :)
yummy .......
and this is for you -

Thank you! This looks good indeed :D
Cheers!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

As is always the case, beautiful food post. I really like your writing style. When you say, "let the meat rest," I have learned that is a very, very important step in cooking GOOD meat. Thanks for this great dark meat Turkey idea.

Yep, it is, but in many cases I forget about all the rules, because I'm hungry )))
Thank you for your support!

yeah, I know, it's hard to be patient

I'm going to do it and nothing else )

I guess as a true vampiretta you don't even have to cook it ;-)
Thanks for the comment!

This sounds like an excellent meal. Great job, cheers and blessed Thanksgiving. :D

Thank you for your comment!
This tastes as an excellent meal too :D
Happy and Healthy Thanksgiving Day for you!

Very good post! You look delicious @richman Followed and voted! You follow me @Sandra16

Thank you very much!
Follow for follow? Why not, but it seems you only resteem people I'm following already.
No offence, perhaps when you will make your own posts?
Cheers!

If I tried it but I do not even realize how to do it, I'm new to this I have to learn .. I would love to be able to do it, I have several themes that I love and I would like to share it but I do not know how to do it .. I hope soon to be able to do it .. Thanks and regards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58