30 Square Bengaluru for Nepali Style Momos and more! #IndiGobbler

in #food6 years ago

Hey fellow Steemians, this is my new Sub-Steem (if you can call it that!), where I'll be posting food reviews from across India, under the nickname/hashtag #IndiGobbler.


As I was strolling on the JNC College Road in Koramangala, Bangalore one sunny afternoon, I happened to notice a swanky place right opposite Black Pearl. The bright yellow interiors were too hard to resist and hence I decided to pay this place a visit.


Image courtesy: Google/Zomato

IMG_20180216_153601.jpg

SHORT REVIEW
A cosy little place offering simple soul food at pocket-friendly prices, with multiple customization options. From casual meetings to dinner-dates, this is the place to be!

MUST TRY
Charcoal cheese momos, Jhol momos, Wai Wai Wok, Cold Coffee

DETAILED REVIEW
On entering the place, I learnt that this is a newly opened restaurant almost on the lines of a QSR. Probably due to the timing, there were not many people there and hence I managed to get a comfortable seat. Also, I managed to meet the owner Mr. Ankit, who was very helpful in helping me choose what to eat. He even offered me a couple of samplers!

Based on the lines of Momo Jojo, but with a complete brand refresh as well as product line upgrade, they now feature non-vegetarian dishes as well. If you’re wondering (just like me) what 30 squared means, Ankit was quick to explain that when rotated, 30-30 looks like MO-MO, and hence the name.

Apart from the groovy interiors and the interesting menu, the food items are tastefully planned as well. There’s something on the menu to suit everyone’s palate. Let me now dive right into what I ordered/sampled.

IMG_20180216_135042.jpg

Mix Veg Jhol Momos – Amazing momo soup with a distinct Nepali masala flavour. Tangy and spicy at the same time. Absolutely loved it. Would easily recommend this to anyone. Jhol food, soul food!

IMG_20180216_135117.jpg

Charcoal Cheese Momos – I must admit, on first looks I was extremely apprehensive to try out these momos. The word charcoal itself is enough to turn you off. However, I decided to take the plunge and try it out anyway. I must say, had I not tried this, I would have regretted it. The dish is delish! I wish they had this in the non-veg variant as well.

IMG_20180216_141607.jpg

Tandoori Style Momos – While they have a number of fillings to choose from, for this particular style I chose Chicken and Cheese. It was yummy.

Afghani Style Momos – For this style, I chose a mushroom coriander filling. But somehow after having this, I felt it would have tasted better with a chicken filling.

IMG_20180216_143732.jpg

W3 (aka Wai Wai Wok) is one dish you must not fail to try. It features my favourite Wai-Wai noodles (which is hardly found anywhere, thanks to Maggi! Blah!) in a soupy base with extra seasonings and garnish. I gobbled and slurped the entire bowl down.

By then my friends had also joined me, and hence we decided to order a few more items like Momo Wraps and Sizzlers. As I was quite stuffed, I just had bite-sized portions of both of these and hence can’t comment much on the taste. But I can vouch for the quality as well as the massive quantity!

As those of you who regularly follow me would know, I am more of a drinks person, which meant I ordered almost every single drink out there on the menu. On a personal note, their chillers failed to impress me much, tasted a bit artificial, however my friends liked it. So I would suggest you give it a shot.

IMG_20180216_134753.jpg

But the shakes and cold coffee were AMAZING. Perfect consistency and sweetness. Speaking of sweetness, we decided to end the day on a sweet note by ordering a Sizzling Brownie with Ice Cream. It tasted as nice as it sounds! Also, the masala soft drinks were quite tasty.

FINAL VERDICT
Am I visiting this place again? Hell yeah! True VFM, great portions, ability to customize your food and drinks! Who wouldn’t love this!

You can find the menu here
You can locate the place here

Sort:  

@originalworks Please do check my recent article :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72