Ginger Garlic , Manipal - Coastal flavours in a comfy ambiance - #IndiGobbler

in #food6 years ago

This place is located inside Hotel Sarah International in Manipal. Having opened recently, Ginger Garlic provides a wide range of cuisines under one roof, although they speak very highly of their coastal concoctions. I was lucky enough to get invited alongside a few of my foodie friends, as well as a lot of students from Manipal for a sort of mini-launch party.

IMG_20180312_201402.jpg

Coming to the food, we had a very wide spread, courtesy the large number of people in the group. Also, there was some seafood festival going on, so many items here are from their special seafood menu. Let me go into the finer details of all these dishes (Not explaining the ones I didn’t taste)

IMG_20180312_193554.jpg
We were welcomed with a Kiwi Cooler, made up of Kiwi Crush and Sparkling Water. This was quite refreshing.

Mocktails – I need to give a special mention to their mocktails, as I don’t know what they put in it, but it tasted like nothing I’ve ever had before. It was so delicious, I managed to gulp down two!

IMG_20180312_200234.jpg
Prawns Cocktail – Great presentation, but I did not try it out due to my allergy

IMG_20180312_201337.jpg
Grilled Pomfret – A delicious Continental preparation, served with a portion of rice and veggies

IMG_20180312_201341.jpg
Grilled Anjal – Similar to the Grilled Pomfret plating, however with Seer/King fish

IMG_20180312_202248.jpg
Prawns Koliwada – Did not try this item due to my prawn allergy

IMG_20180312_200240.jpg
Chicken Tawa – A unique tasting dish, worth ordering once. It was tangy and spicy, quite fingerlicking.

IMG_20180312_202242.jpg
Bangude Rawa – A decent sized Mackerel, deep fried with a semolina coating. Typical coastal Mangalorean style.

IMG_20180312_201349.jpg
Hariyali Bangude/Prawns – This dish was supposedly so good, that it did not even reach my plate. It was empty in seconds!

IMG_20180312_200344.jpg
Marwai Pundi – Managed to taste only the pundi, which was quite tasty, however the marwai was apparently not fresh as the shells were still intact

IMG_20180312_202432.jpg
Alle Piao Gashi – To be honest, I did not like this dish much. Being a GSB, this is one dish that I’m quite used to eating at home and hence have my benchmark. Sadly, a disappointment.

IMG_20180312_201445.jpg
Squid Ghee Roast – Did not manage to get my hands on this dish too

Prawns Ghee Roast – Could not try this out due to my prawn allergy

IMG_20180312_201508.jpg
Chicken Ghee Roast – When it comes to Chicken Ghee Roast, I have really high standards, so I was hoping they don’t mess this up. However, I just loved this dish! It was amazing.

Fish Amritsari – Did not manage to get my hands on this dish

Fish Cigars – This item is always risky, as it can either go right or horribly wrong. Surprisingly however, this one was right in the middle.

Fish Biryani – The fish biryani was an amazing dish overall, as the rice was very aromatic and tasty. However, the entire dish would have tasted better had they chosen to have Anjal fish in it, instead of Basa which is more suited to continental food. Nonetheless, it was very tasty!

IMG_20180312_200915.jpg
Shrimp Dynamite – Good presentation, but did not taste it due to my allergy.

ginger-garlic-multi-cuisine.jpg

All in all, it is a fresh change to the dining scene in Manipal, which usually consists of small eateries, pubs or similar kind of places. This is a place where you can dine in luxury, without necessarily spending exorbitantly. Oh, and for the hic-happy folks, they serve alcohol too!

You can find the place here

Sort:  

Looks yummy. Will have to try this place out soon.

Congratulations @rjsudeep! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71