Kiddie Saba con Yelo

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, @ryl your mom blogger is back!
As promised, I will be bringing more stories and more simple recipes you can easily grab and try for you to enjoy.
If you have read my previous recipe blogs, you already knew how much I love using overripe bananas on my dessert recipes.
This time I will be using plantain, locally known as saba.
As a thrifty Momma, I make sure that no food is being wasted, not on my watch.
In fact, overripe/fully ripen bananas and plantains are gold in my eyes.

Trivia:
As the banana ripens, brown spots generally develop as it moves through the ripening stage. ... The more brown spots the banana has, the more sugar the banana contains, and the sweeter it becomes. Brown spots on a banana generally do not indicate disease. Bananas with spots should be safe to eat. Source

The Steps for this refreshing treat is very easy

1


Boil this mixture for about 10mins. in medium heat until you syrup is thick enough.

2


Another option for this mixture is to add a tablespoon of white sugar.
But for me, the syrup from the plantain mixture is sweet enough.

3


Scoop 2-3 tablespoons of Sweetened Plantain to your serving glass or bowl.
Add the Milky Ice next.
You can alternate the two mixtures and assemble it however you please.

Remember, this recipe is basic yet versatile.
You can add toppings and other ingredients like rice crispies, sprinkles, tapioca, sweetened beans etc.
My family loves it so much they kept asking me to make more.

Thanks for dropping by,
May you start and end your day with a smile :)

Avatar chef ryl2.png
Avatar logo ryl3.png

ryl steemit.png

I VOTED @steemgigs @surpassinggoogle @curie @utopian-io @themarkymark @ausbitbank @blocktrades @mahdiyari @vesteem
AS WITNESSES BECAUSE I BELIEVE THEY HAVE THE COMMUNITY'S BEST INTEREST AT HEART.

steembulls logo.jpghttps://discord.me/SteemBulls
Join the growing community of Steembulls on discord to talk to people(not bots) and meet our admins @pkalra @bunnychum and @honeychum.

Be inspired and learn more from these authors @dangerousangel @evlachsblog @sarahdandridge also known as @dynamicshine, @lynbabe10 @fruthielicious @arrliinn @erangvee, and @kennyroy.

Steem on!

Sort:  

its nice to know about the new recipe

wow great for summer.

Perfect for bonding time during these summer days.

it's also summer here now @ryl. Thanks for sharing. But I have to find that "saba" because it's only available in Filipino stores here..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72