First Time Trying Jackfruit!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Jackfruit is a mysterious food. I'd seen it before, sitting with the other produce at the Asian and Indian stores, or served as a BBQ "pulled pork" imitation, but I've never had the guts to try it.

First of all let me just show you what these things look like!

fruit-1673897_1920.jpg

They are huge! So I bought a quarter of one that had already been sliced.

20180730_221038.jpg

I learned from another lady buying some that when eating it fresh and ripe you want the outside of the jackfruit to be turning brown and the flesh of the fruit inside to be yellow. She also told me that when it's eaten in savory dishes like curry, it's used green and includes some of the fiber between the fruit.

20180730_221256.jpg

Ours seemed to further ripen after we bought it and was bright yellow by the time I cut it up. Simply slice through the fibrous parts and use a spoon to scoop out the yellow fruit. You also have to pick out a few seeds, but they are huge and you can't miss them.

20180730_220717.jpg

It is delicious!! It's not juicy, but it's got a soft firm texture that tastes just like Juicy Fruit Gum. It's great for snacking on, it seems like it would travel well without bruising too.

Next up I have to try it in a savory dish, but apparently its easier to buy canned green jackfruit rather than prepare it yourself. I'll let you know how it goes when I do!

Please leave a comment if you have any suggestions or other fun uses for jackfruit!

Sort:  

I love sweet jackfruit. I've also had it when I think it was not yet ripe and less sweet. It was cooked in a stew and I asked what meat I was eating. I thought it was chicken. White, firm... delicious. The fruit is truly a gift.

You know, you can even eat the seeds. Save those seeds, boil them or steem them until they soften up a bit, peel off the fibrous encasing and enjoy them. They taste like water chestnuts.

http://healthythairecipes.com/boiled-jackfruit-seeds/
JackfruitSeeds2-1028x771.jpg

http://coachdebbieruns.com/creamy-jackfruit-stew/
Creamy-Jackfruit-Stew_1.jpg

That's awesome! The seeds do look too nice to waste, I'm so glad to have a use for them now. Thank you for the links! That recipe looks delicious too! I think I've found my new favorite fruit 😄

Jackfruit works well in desserts too! Put it in coconut milk, shaved ice and other fruits!! Look up 'es teler', an Indonesian dessert drink.

Thank you so much! I'll have to try that. There was defintely more fruit inside than I expected so it's great to have another use for it now!

It's my first time trying it too. It's better than I thought! It's not weird at all. I'm sad I've been missing it my whole life.

How long have you been a photographer for?

I've assisted shooting weddings and private parties with my husband for a few years, but now I am expanding to travel blogging and restaurant/food reviews :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67065.15
ETH 3680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65