Bruschetta!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4232.jpg

Today was the day! A day full of football, and homemade bruschetta. As you know, I already baked my bread a few days earlier, so now, all I had to do is gather up the rest of my ingredients and whip it together.
IMG_4221.jpg
First, a trip out to the garden to pick some fresh Basil.

IMG_4223.jpg
A few tomatoes (store bought, but if you have your own, even better!), onion, and basil. Slice, dice, chop your tomatoes how you see fit. Toss them in a big storage bowl.

Finely chop your basil. Now, as a not so good knife wielder, I have to improvise when chopping such fine things as basil. I found that scissors do wonders in this department. I gather about 10-15 leaves of basil (personal preference, can be used to taste), and I take my scissors and cut the leaves in half.
IMG_4224.jpg
IMG_4225.jpg
Then I finely snip each half-set into my bowl.
IMG_4226.jpg

Next up, finely dice some onion (about 1/4 of an onion) into your bowl.
IMG_4227.jpg

IMG_4241.jpg
Toss in some olive oil and some balsamic vinegar, salt, and fresh ground pepper to taste! Give it a good stir. These ingredients are basically all to taste, depending on your personal preference. But it doesn't take a lot of either, so be mindful (you don't want it to be swimming in oil&vinegar ;-)).
IMG_4228.jpg
Cover and stick it in the refrigerator. Now, I must say, this dish is even better the next day, as all the ingredients marinate in the fridge. But, it is perfectly fine on day 1. You can also add avocado! Which I love to do, but I just didn't have any at the time.

Gather up your bread, slather on some butter and garlic salt (if you prefer, I love!).
IMG_4230.jpg
Place the breads face down on your skillet, griddle, or grill......get them nice and toasty.
IMG_4231.jpg

Now load those babies up with a heaping portion of bruschetta and devour!
IMG_4232.jpg

This dish is so good. Use it as an appetizer, or side dish. Now, I am back on track today, with my eating regimen (low-carb), so what will I do with the leftovers you ask? Well, you can use the leftovers in salads, a topping for fresh baked salmon, a cool refreshing topping for cabbage rolls, or my favorite, a topping on my lettuce wrapped tacos! YUM! The possibilities are endless! Give it a try, hope you enjoy! If you are into low-carb eating, stay tuned!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sback, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3382 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $913.78. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I'll have to try, it looks delicious. And I also love sandwiches. I hope I can find a fresh basil in my city :)

Hello my friend, can you help and upvote my post with my son, on 4-th it's her birthday and I want to give a little gift.
https://steemit.com/family/@cobran/my-boy

Thanks!

Congratulations @sback! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

An Italian food very easy to prepare and very tasty! I'm glad you eat very healthy

Hello, my name is Nadine and I am new on Steemit. Would be very nice if you could check out my post and maybe you want to follow back. Thank you.
https://steemit.com/travel/@leo-tmp/explore-the-beauty-of-northern-thailand-chiang-mai-my-travel-diary
And I really love your post. Great!

THIS LOOKS SO GOOD! Definitely add an ingredient list/step-by-step instructions at the end, so, if someone wants to make it, they don't have to scroll back through everything

Wow! That looks outrageous! That purple basil is Thai Basil correct? Great basic. I grow lemon basil as well. The different basils other then the standard sweet or Napalitano add such a unique flair to your dishes and vinegrettes. I've tried several basils indoors in the Aerogarden and the Lemon basil is the fastest and tallest growing for sure. Never tried growing the Thai basil in the Aerogarden yet but intend to next cycle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85