Cooking with coconut oil, surprise ingredient ...

in #food6 years ago

coconut.png

So, I went to my local store about a month ago, I needed some cooking oil. I decided I would try some coconut oil for a change as I thought this might be a little healthier for me. I bought a small bottle just to test and used it in my cooking for about a week. I have to say, coconut oil is very tasty, it adds just a slight coconut taste to everything and the cooking odour is also yummy.

I used the oil, and decided I would buy some more. I returned to the store and asked for another slightly larger bottle of oil. The shop owner asked me why I needed so much oil as I had no hair on my head ? confused, I said 'this is for cooking not my head', oh no she said, this brand is hair and skin conditioner, not cooking oil.

So, I have to say that cooking in hair conditioner actually doesn't taste too bad - however I'm not sure of the health risks.

O.o

Sort:  

I hope you're joking ;-) That is very funny!

I have never used coconut oil, I've heard that virgin olive oil is the most healthy type of oil to cook with. I buy dried coconut milk powder, add water. Some Thai food curry paste usually has a tiny bit of oil in it already, I add a spot of sesame oil or olive oil, then the coconut milk - other ingredients come next. It's a quick and easy dinner - dummy proof. And as I am a bald dummy, it's perfect. No conditioner added by the way!!

Funny, but yes, it's quite true :)

I don't think it's so different, one brand will be certified for consumption I expect, both were pure cold pressed, so no additives. Anyway, it is yummy, the flavor doesn't suit everything though, omelettes for example don't taste quite as you might expect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78