Kitchen Witch Thursdays - Chocolate Cherry Marshmallow Brownies

in #food6 years ago

Kitchen Witch Thursday.png

Brownies are one of the most versatile and easy to make things in the dessert world. There's very little you can do with these guys that isn't tasty and amazing, but for times when as a person bearing a uterus I crave chocolate and need a little something else to go with it too. So these brownies in particular are for those cravings, and include cherries to get some fruit in there too and add an extra measure of flavor to them.

Untitled-1.png

You'll Need The Following;

  • A brownie mix or whatever ingredients you'd use to make a brownie batter
  • Anything else you'd like to add to the brownie batter, like the bag of chocolate chips on the right
  • A bag of mini marshmallows
  • Some melting chocolate
  • Some cherries

Now a few notes here - I don't mind using a boxed brownie mix. Most people don't know the difference if you don't tell them. I just get a basic like $1 mix from the store and add my own whatever into it usually anyway. The marshmallows should be mini, you'll have trouble if you try to use regular sized ones.

The chocolate in question is the Wilton melting disks made specifically for melting to drizzle over or coat things, but you can use baker's chocolate or chocolate chips too as long as you're careful not to burn the chocolate. And the cherries I had are leftovers from a bag of frozen cherries so they look mushy and all that. You could use fresh ones for more color and all, but frozen is cheaper most of the year and I don't care about how these look I just care that they taste good and satisfy my need for chocolate, but if you're looking for something nice get fresh cherries to look better.

Untitled-2.png

So first step is to make your brownie batter. This box just called for 2/3 cups oil, 1/4 cup water and 2 eggs. I substituted the water for coffee and upped it to 3 eggs but only used the whites. If you save the yolks you can use them to grease your pan later too! And of course I added in the chocolate chips here so they can bake in with it.

Untitled-3.png

Follow the directions for baking based on your box or recipe mix. In this case 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

Untitled-4.png

Once they're done don't turn your oven off. Instead pull the pan out and dump the marshmallows all over the top then put it back in the oven for about 2-3 minutes.

Untitled-5.png

The marshmallows will puff up and melt a little bit, and this is why you want them mini instead of regular sized.

Untitled-6.png

Top it off with your cherries. If you're using fresh ones chop them in half or quarters, but since these guys are thawed from frozen they're small enough to just do as is. Yes, the juice leeched into the marshmallows a bit and discolored them but I've found this happens even with fresh cherries too so don't worry too much about it.

Make sure you let these cool to room temperature before moving on to the next step.

Untitled-7.png

Once your brownies are cool melt your chocolate. I did the disks at 20 second intervals in the microwave, stirring in between until they were warm and nice and liquid. Then go ahead and drizzle it over the top of your brownies and let that cool until it's solid again.

Untitled-8.png

Slice, eat and enjoy! About 15-20 second in the microwave to reheat the individual slices works perfectly fine if you like your brownies warm. I suggest topping with ice cream or chocolate syrup for extra goodness if you need that kind of thing :)

Note - I didn't mean for these to come out red, white and blue. I wanted the colored mini marshmallows but I couldn't find them so I had to go with white, the cherries are obviously red and there's nothing I can do about that, and since we'll be moving soon my roommate is urging me to use what we already have so I was using leftover blue melting chocolate from another baking project and it just came out that way. Like I said before I wasn't intending these to be pretty, I just wanted something with mass amounts of chocolate and sugar to help with my chocolate cravings right now.

Banner was made by me in Photoshop. All other pictures here were taken by me specifically for this post. I have been a home cook for over a decade, and any questions or comments about this recipe are encouraged!

If you like this content resteems, upvotes and comments are much appreciated <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66