Eating in Melbourne: Brunch at The Colonel's Son, Black Rock

in #food6 years ago (edited)

On my last day of vacation before going back to work I took my friend for a drive to the beach near Sandringham, Melbourne. We walked for about 2 hours along the ocean, enjoying the beautiful colors of the water and sky. For lunch I introduced my friend to a nice cafe I had discovered last year called The Colonel's Son which is in Black Rock. The second floor tables have a wonderful view of the sea.

2018-01-05 12.54.48.jpg

My brunch


I ordered this special which was a sweet potato parmesan waffle with chipotle pulled pork, poached egg, hollandaise sauce, avocado mousse, tomato, pressed apple and some radish slices. It was a creative dish with many of my favorite flavors and textures such as the creamy smoothness of the avocado, the natural sweetness of the crunchy apple and the rich gooey egg yolk running out of the poached egg. A very satisfying dish that exceeded expectations!

2018-01-05 13.07.42.jpg
My friend's dish was a bit heavier because in addition to poached eggs, it had chorizo, polenta, and black beans. My friend really enjoyed her meal so we left the cafe very happy and full!

20180103_123503.jpg

Photos taken with my Samsung Galaxy s5.

@snooway

Sort:  

Holy Crap! That there is a work of art. Well consumed my friend, well consumed.

Well said!

Oh that looks so good! And the view! It's snowing here in Montreal, Canada right now, so I'm enjoying pictures of nice warm places lol

I know how cold Canada can be in winter, having lived there for two years, you have my sympathies. Sending some Australian sun your way!

I have some friends in Australia, and quite a lot of my art ends up there, but I've never been myself yet. I hope to have a chance one day! I'd love to snorkle in the Great Barrier Reef!

The Great Barrier reef is a really fabulous place to visit. The snorkeling there was amazing. Too bad the reef is dead/dying

Oh wow what a great day! My kind of day for sure, and what you ate I never heard of all those things put together it sounds divine, I want to go there! Your pictures are awesome, great post snooway!!🌹

Yes it was a wonderful day. The chef there is very creative and I enjoyed the food very much!

I'm going to try and recreate your meal I want that!😜😊

Let me know how it goes!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @snooway to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Melbourne has such good food. I had the best Vietnamese I've ever had there. And there's a pizza place that had me seriously considering flying back from Sydney just to have some <3

I agree with you. Where did you have the Vietnamese food? Springvale? Footscray? What about the pizza? I love pizza

It was so long ago I can't remember but we were living in Richmond so no doubt it was nearby. The pizza place was near the sports arenas. My god it was good! I wish I could remember the name of it for you

Oh yes I heard Richmond has good Vietnamese food

Nice pics! Food looks amazing. Will be following to see if you come up with new goodies! Follow me if you want more brunch suggestions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72