You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lily's Tips and Tricks for Proper Molcajete (Mortar and Pestle) Seasoning and Care

in #food6 years ago (edited)

For years I’ve wanted this item, more for looking like a ‘pro’ than the use.

This video has lifted the yen…for now…I have a small cast iron skillet that I rarely use. It makes excellent corn bread; and, over all is ‘fun’ to use…nostalgia of sorts.

I expect the molcajete will be the same.

Recently, I wanted to crack some steel cut oats into a powder. I don’t own a Vitamix; so, got the yen to put them into a gallon baggie and use my elbow-grease rolling pin to crack them. Of course, a coffee grinder would have worked; but, I used the rolling pin.

Let me be honest…the results were not mortar/pestle quality. So, someday, I’ll buy one. We’ll see.

Thanks for sharing!

Peace.

Sort:  

Hey there so I feel you on the "pro" aspect of the mortar and pestle. It kind of makes me feel more legitimate even though its made out of such rough natural materials. I display it in my counter both for inspiration and reminder of the little things, that grinding up some garlic in it can be so satisfying compared to mincing it with a knife. Smashing garlic to remove the skins instead of risking my hands doing it with the side of a knife (I've got scars from that going wrong)

I was guilty of not really using my cast iron frying pan despite the fact that I brought it with me all this way while on the run. I was determined to carry the thing in a backpack it was so important to me yet it sat unused for months due to me just not wanting to put in the work to care of it once I messed up the seasoning.

But a little avocado oil changed that and now I use it every day and it's my favorite pan once again.

Get a mortar and pestle, if you're anything like me you'll regret not having done it sooner. And season that pan really nice and it'll be one you'll be addicted to using :)

not wanting to put in the work to care of it once I messed up the seasoning.

I'm so glad you found an easy way to season your cast iron. I defy all of the rules associated with care. After using mine, I literally wash it in hot soap and water. I put it on the stove, very low heat til dry (about 10 minutes). I then add a cap of oil to the skillet and carefully polish the whole thing, top and bottom with a paper towel.

Before using it, I give it a good rinse with hot water, and onto the stove. I've had it for years, and no damage.

regret not having done it sooner

Lol...Don't tell anyone, but currently, I'm not an avid cook. Perhaps the yen will hit me someday and I will buy one. ;+)

Again, many thanks for sharing this very informative post!

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88