Penny's Kitchen: Episode two; Mistresses Tea ( or; Tea, Earl Grey, Hot.)

in #food6 years ago

20180307_190220.jpg

I am an enthusiastic tea drinker. So much so that its almost religious to me. I have spent years looking for the ideal combination of elements culminating in the perfect cuppa every day. Now to be fair my lifestyle is such that I no longer make my own tea, but I did train my servent how to make it exactly the right way, and that knowledge was gained by years of trial and error, and by my 7 years as a professional barista. The very best ingredients make for the very best end product.
Line Of Impact Pink.jpg

I start with a stainless steel 4.5 cup Teapot. I purchased it at a restaurant supply outlet in Boulder CO. It holds heat wonderfully, is just the right size for the amount of leaves I use and pours without a glug, which I like allot. The handle is shielded from heat and the whole thing is built to last.

20180307_194123.jpg

To begin I boil 5 cups of water. I use a Bodum water boiler for this but a pot works just fine as well.

The tea I use is from a tea shop named KuCha. Their Organic Earl Grey is simply the most divine version of this classic tea I can find outside of Britain. It has subtle undercurrents and complex top notes. Just divine in every sense of the word.

20180307_190143.jpg

While the water is on the boil I place one heaping teaspoon of leaves into my 2" tea ball infuser.

20180307_191618.jpg

I set that into a little stainless bowl, ready to be used and dip a table spoon into a jar of the best honey in Colorado. Busy Bee Farm in Larkspur makes the most amazing pure honey I have ever had, plus its local so there is a benefit for allergies there as well. I dip a spoon in, let some roll off, spin it twice to keep it from dripping and place it into the teapot handle up.

20180307_191202.jpg

Then pour the water into the teapot directly off the boil, one should pour directly onto the spoon with the honey causing the honey to melt and diffuse evenly through the pot. Mix lightly and remove the spoon. In goes the infuser, set a timer for three minutes. When three minutes has lapsed remove the diffuser and place it back into the bowl. I then add two tps of half and half. I use a stoneware teacup that holds two cups but I never pour more than half a cup in, thus preserving the heat and ensuring a piping hot cuppa every sip.

20180307_194239.jpg
modern text Footer Pink.jpg
20180307_200608.jpg

Hope you enjoy please feel free to ask any questions, have a lovely day!

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Morning! I share your love affair with Earl Grey - so much so that I literally put a mention about it in the acknowledgements of my dissertation, along with the people and cats who were there for me too all those years. Granted, I put a lot more half & half than you do...I am extravagant about that because I want it to taste like a dessert. I used to drink at least 4 cups a day...now we've sort of switched to coffee most mornings and then the afternoon is for tea. I'll also drink vanilla tea or English Breakfast on occasion, just to keep it real. But the Earl...true love always! I have a tea pot in stainless steel that belonged to my grandma. I love using it so I think of her :-) Cheers!

Awww!! Kitty's do make it better for sure! I used to be a big coffee drinker but I've just decided to give into my tea lust and drink it all day now, I love heirloom tea paraphernalia! The cup I use at home is from my great grandmother, I also have one from my great great grandma but I don't use it because of my fear of breaking it lol! Thank you so much for your comment

jasmine tea and orange zest combination is driving me crazy! greetings to tea lovers :)

I especially liked

Now to be fair my lifestyle is such that I no longer make my own tea, but I did train my servent how to make it exactly the right way

How do I get me one of those? Thanks for the great info on how to do my tea the right way! I had no idea!

I'm glad it was helpful and I do hope you enjoy!! Tehe!! Well I am a Dominatrix so I have several servants, one of which is a live in, they make my tea as part of their daily chores. So I guess its as simple as becoming a Goddess, which I assume comes naturally to us all ;-)

simple as becoming a Goddess, which I assume comes naturally to us all ;-)

:) Love it!
You, my dear, are just extremely quotable!

I do what I can ;-)

I hope your day is simply wonderful!!!

cause tea is the best, I'm a big fan of Green Tea with Honey and Lemon, I got so addicted to it when I was recuperating in Thailand.

For sure! I have been on a major black tea kick lately but green tea is wonderful!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69066.32
ETH 3740.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65