A Relaxing Afternoon in Milan

in #food5 years ago

ENG
This Friday was a day of rest from work for me, in fact I will tragically work both tomorrow and Sunday.
So I decided to take the subway and go to Milan to make a quick tour and stop to eat a cake from California Bakery, one of my favorite bakeries.
There are several throughout the city of Milan, I went to the one in Viale Premuda, near Porta Venezia, a very busy area of ​​the city.

I like this bakery because I particularly appreciate their desserts in perfect American style, from the traditional American cheesecake to the luscious chocolate cakes up to the more classic ones like apple pie or carrot cake, every time I find myself completely undecided about what to choose .
On this Friday afternoon of pure relaxation I decided to spoil myself with a hyper caloric chocolate cheesecake, but in short in anticipation of the hard work that I will have to face in the coming days I think I deserved it.

When you order a slice of cake from California Bakery you can choose the size of the slice from slim to regular up to double. I chose the slim that I have to admit it was already very abundant, I can't imagine how big the other slices can be.

ITA
Questo venerdì era per me giorno di riposo dal lavoro, tragicamente lavorerò sia domani che domenica ma ormai me ne sono fatta una ragione.
Ho deciso quindi di prendere la metropolitana ed andare a Milano per fare un giro veloce e fermarmi a mangiare un dolce da California Bakery, una delle mie pasticcerie preferite.
Ce ne sono diverse in tutta la città di Milano, io sono andata in quella in viale Premuda, vicino a Porta Venezia, una zona molto frequentata della città.

Mi piace questa pasticceria perchè apprezzo particolarmente i loro dolci in perfetto stile americano, dalle cheesecake americane tradizionali alle golosissime torte al cioccolato fino ad arrivare a quelle più classiche come la torta di mele o quella di carote, ogni volta mi trovo completamente indecisa su cosa scegliere.
In questo venerdì pomeriggio di puro relax ho deciso di viziarmi con una cheesecake al cioccolato iper calorica, ma insomma in previsione del duro lavoro che dovrò affrontare nei prossimi giorni penso di essermela meritata.

Quando si ordina una fetta di torta da California Bakery si può scegliere la grandezza della fetta da slim a regular fino a double. Io ho scelto la slim che devo ammettere era già molto abbondante, non riesco ad immaginare quanto possano essere grandi le altre fette.

IMG_3582.JPG

ENG
Along with the cake I ordered a cappuccino which I always take decaffeinated (caffeine makes me bad jokes so I try to avoid it when possible) and without sugar.

The cappuccino was served to me in a glass. I didn't find it very suitable because the drink has cooled down almost immediately and was also uncomfortable to carry to the mouth without a handle to hold. I did not understand this choice very well and, from what I remember, it is the first time that I serve cappuccino in this way from California Bakery. I was quite baffled.

ITA
Insieme allo torta ho ordinato un cappuccino che io prendo sempre decaffeinato (la caffeina mi fa brutti scherzi quindi cerco di evitarla quando possibile) e senza zucchero.

Il cappuccino mi è stato servito in un bicchiere di vetro. Non l'ho trovato molto adatto in quanto la bevanda si è raffreddata praticamente subito ed era anche scomoda da portare alla bocca senza nessuno manico da reggere. Non ho capito molto bene questa scelta e, da che io ricordi, è la prima volta che da California Bakery mi servono il cappuccino in questo modo. Ne sono rimasta abbastanza sconcertata.

IMG_3583.JPG

ENG
After enjoying my slice of cheesecake with cappuccino I took a tour of the neighborhood, even to get rid of some of the calories consumed.
I accidentally came across this store specializing in video games, manga, anime and action figures and I decided to take a picture of it in the window. This is because I immediately recognized the life-size statue of Magical Angel Creamy Mami and I got so excited remembering when as a child, in the afternoons after school, I watched the anime on television.

And, yes, there is also the statue of Mazinger next to her, but I must admit that I am not a big fan of this giant robot. So forgive me if I don't show as much enthusiasm.

ITA
Dopo aver gustato la mia fetta di cheesecake con il cappuccino ho fatto un giro nel quartiere, anche per smaltire un po' delle calorie assunte.
Mi sono accidentalmente imbattuta in questo negozio specializzato in video giochi, manga, anime ed action figure e ho deciso di scattare una foto alla vetrina. Questo perché ho riconosciuto subito la statua a grandezza naturale dell'Incantevole Creamy e mi sono emozionata tantissimo ricordando quando da piccola, nei pomeriggio dopo la scuola, guardavo l'anime in televisione.

E, sì, accanto a lei c'è anche la statua di Mazinga ma devo ammettere che non sono una grande fans di questo robot gigante. Quindi perdonatemi se non dimostro altrettanto entusiasmo.

IMG_3580.JPG

ENG
To end this afternoon in Milan I took the metro back and I noticed, with pleasure, that the walls of the Porta Venezia metro station were decorated in rainbow colors to celebrate LGBTQ pride. Hooray!

ITA
Per concludere questo pomeriggio a Milano ho ripreso la metro per tornare indietro ed ho notato, con piacere, che le pareti della stazione della metropolitana di Porta Venezia sono state decorate con i colori dell'arcobaleno per celebrare l'orgoglio LGBTQ. Evviva!

IMG_3584.JPG

Sort:  

That chocolate cheesecake looks really great!~

Posted using Partiko Android

It was indeed!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Holy fuck, sweet carbs

PS: Your review will be very well appreciated on my latest post: "Soy: An Unbiased Reality"
Have an epic one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59