You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bicycle Tour, Day 14: On religion and food at grandparents'

in #food6 years ago

Hey @celestal, awesome article! I'm not religious either, but I'm fascinated by religious practices. I found Pentecostals to be super upbeat, with singing and clapping and hallelujah. I don't know how it was in Finland, but the Pentecostal church I visited in Japan did laying on of hands, making prophecies, and speaking in tongues. I know that in Appalachia certain Pentecostals also practice handling of serpents amidst amazing blues-rock tunes. But all this seems to be a galaxy away from a Finnish context.

Sort:  

Hey @celestal, awesome article!

Was more like laid out row of thoughts, but thank you :)

I don't know how it was in Finland, but the Pentecostal church I visited in Japan did laying on of hands, making prophecies, and speaking in tongues.

Yes, it is exactly the same here. Prophecies perhaps not so much - they tend to be careful with them - but everything else, clappin, raising hands, speaking in tongues etc., is the same here too.

But all this seems to be a galaxy away from a Finnish context.

To my understanding, Pentecostals are quite similar across the globe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87