One photo every day: Tasting moussaka and kleftiko (6/365)

in #food6 years ago

Dear all,

What is the better way to explore new culture than eating local dishes and tasting local wines?

My parents recommended us Tony’s Tavern, a local restaurant near to us. It seemed to be very popular among Cypriots, as we were only tourists there. Yet, they took positively our presence at the place and warmly welcomed us to visit their restaurant again. The owner’s wife had similar name as our daughter and we had great chat about international names in the Finnish culture and our expectations of Cyprus.

The owners recommended us moussaka and kleftiko because the dishes were considered their bravuras. Is it hard to guess what we took?😜

4714B957-5C1D-4C6F-B172-12126B660308.jpeg
Moussaka (potato-based dish including ground meat, eggplant and top layer made of milk sauce thickened with egg).

7F5081A3-6936-43B6-93F2-1185905CC7B0.jpeg
Kleftiko (marinated lamb slowly cooked in oven with olive oil, garlic and onion).

All the best,
Sulimur

Sort:  

I just went to cooking class where we cooked different kinds of Greek food including moussaka 🙌🏼 It was the first time I tasted it and I surprised, it was really good! That one in your picture looks also very delicious 😋 -Mrs.Heinze

Was moussaka easy to prepare? I read the recipe and it seemed to be quite easy to prepare...almost as easy as Greek salad. 😃

Yes it was a quite easy but it took a lot of time! And totally worth it :)

Looks delicious, I have to to make these too.

When I come back to Finland, I have to try as well. At the moment, I think it’s quite easy to do (or at least recipe seems to be quite easy). Will see. 😃👏🏽

Did you like their food? It looks nice and colourful.

Thank you @markos86, it was as delicious as it looks! 🤗

I love lamb. I am really hungry. Then I saw this post. Now I am even more hungry than before. Have fun enjoying all those foods :)

@dromzz, I have been wondering where are you?! I hope to took (or take) comeback to Steemit soon!🤗 I guess you have had your arms full with educational duties and driving lessons (of which speaking, how are they going?😋).

I like lamb also a lot. However, I don’t cook it at home oftentimes as I tend to make too dry. 😫🤷🏼‍♀️

I have spent a lot of time doing work for the Steemjet community. And yeah I have also been busy with education... 3 more weeks and I am free... for few days because I will go to summer lectures preparing me for matriculation exams. It's non-stop work right now with exams and projects every day. I have also had to orientate to changing my current high school into a bigger one next fall.

I now have 14 theory classes and 5 driving lessons behind me. I am starting to feel quite confident behind the wheel :) I still have some learning to do when it comes to rush hour traffic though.

Good to hear from you! I wish you nothing but the best for educational challenges and driving school. 🤗🙏🏽 it’s good to take time for these, in driving school the feel of safety and secure is highly important. Seems like you are on a right path, my friend, good job. 👍🏼 Matriculation exams are highly important (‼️) as well, they helps you to choose your future direction and makes your entrance exams easier. Have you already had an idea of where you are going to apply after high school? 👩‍🎓

No I don't really have an idea. I guess I'll have to figure out something soon.

Take a time, I’m sure you will figure it out. 🤗

Moussaka is one of my favorite when it's done right which good combination of meat and eggplant it's just great meal

I agree with you @bankthecrypto. I’m a big fan of eggplant, hence the antidote eggplant doesn’t bother me at all. In fact, the more eggplant it have the better. For the the crucial part in moussaka is the top layer - I’m not a big fan of creamy or heavy top layer. 🤗

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66