Vegan Pulled Pork - One of My Favorite Recipes

in #food6 years ago

IMG_20180130_192738.jpg

I've been making this recipe for a few years and my friends always ask how. I hope you enjoy it!

What you'll need:
2 cans jackfruit
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp chili powder
1 Tbsp maple syrup
3 cloves garlic
1 onion
1/2 cup water
3/4 cup vegan bbq sauce
2 Tbsp coconut oil

Important!
Be sure to get jackfruit in brine or water, not syrup. The jackfruit in syrup does not marinade well. You can try it but the non-syrup jackfruit is far superior.

IMG_20180130_173356.jpg
In a large bowl mix together paprika, chili powder, maple syrup and jackfruit and allow it to marinade in the fridge for at least a couple of hours, preferably overnight.

IMG_20180130_190105.jpg

When the jackfruit is ready you can start sautéing the garlic and onions in some coconut oil. After about 10 minutes you can add the jackfruit to the sauté.

IMG_20180130_190222.jpg

Add water as necessary so the "meat" doesn't dry out and continue simmering for about 15 minutes.

IMG_20180130_191836.jpg

Start breaking up the jackfruit with a fork and add your best vegan barbecue sauce.

Continue to cook for about 10 minutes.

And serve!

I adapted this recipe from the Edgy Veg, please check her out, she has a coleslaw recipe that is a fantastic compliment to this dish.

Reference:

http://www.theedgyveg.com/2015/05/04/jackfruit-pulled-pork-sandwich-vegan-pulled-pork/

Sort:  

This looks deliciously yummy @suspectcertainty thank you for sharing and keep up the amazing work you do. If you have a little time I would love to have your opinion on my homecooked meals. Steem On!

Thank you, I will definitely check out your page :)

Yes, another Vegan account! Boom, new follower!

I love jackfruit, I make a mean sloppy Joe, always vegan of course.

Thanks for posting.

Much appreciated, send me your sloppy Joe recipe!

I'll have to dig it out and upload it for sure.

Thanks for using our service. your post is upvoted and approved, and if you want you can follow my wife, she is also vegan. ☺ She is @steemitbaby in here. ☺

Very much appreciated, I did :)

jackfruit? wonder what that tastes like! sure looks good!

The right jackfruit really just acquires the taste of the marinade.
It was good, thanks!

Looks really tasty!
This is the first time I've heard about jackfruit! Could you describe the taste/ what does it compare to? I cannot figure out from the photos I found.

Thank you!
The texture is really similar to something like tender chicken but still stringy like pulled pork . The taste is pretty much just yummy bbq sauce. As long as you get the jackfruit in water or brine, the spices and bbq sauce infuse into it very well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67633.45
ETH 3775.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70