A Salad I Like To Serve When We Have A BBQ.

in #food6 years ago

Today I made a nice salad which is again a recipe handed down from my grandmother, to my mother and then to me.

226.jpg

I have not seen this in any of the other European countries that my husband and I have been to and I have not seen it anywhere here in Australia.

It is one of the simplest and most refreshing salads that goes well with most meat dishes. Usually I make this when we have a BBQ or for Easter or Christmas, when we all eat too much, then this salad helps to make the meal a lot lighter and it is a hit with anyone who likes a tasty refreshing flavour along side a meat dish.

The name that I know it by is "Cheese and Onion" and as you can see it is basically that, with a bit of sour cream.

Not a very creative name, easy to remember and even easier to think of it when thinking "What to make when meat is on the menu?".

Today we didn't BBQ, so I made fried chicken. To show that it can be served with most meat dishes, does not necessarily have to be a heavy BBQ with a lot of red meat.

Might not be popular with all the children, depends on what they like. Again, it has a distinct flavour because of the onions.

Here is my recipe, it is too simple to remember,

Ingredients,

7 spring onions
2 tablespoons of cottage cheese
4 tablespoons of sour cream
and a pinch of salt.

Step 1
Chop up your spring onions, add a pinch or two of salt, mix it up.
220.jpg

Step 2
Mix in the cheese and sour cream
221.jpg

Step 3
Mix it up and place and serve!
222.jpg

For my chicken, I made the marinate last night, put the chicken in the fridge and fried it today!
Nothing special, but I know that my children will eat it all up and enjoy the meal!

Nothing different to the way anyone else fries marinated chicken.

223.jpg

224.jpg

225.jpg

& tadaaa a meal that is ready to eat!

226.jpg

I hope you try this simple salad the next time you make a meat dish.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Love barbecue but now winter is coming :/

My wife loves all of those ingredients. Cheers :)

As I do not like sour cream or cottage cheese, I do not think I would like this. That chicken sure looks good though.

Then you can eat just the chicken.

Nice recipe and the chick looks yummy. unfortunately you wonderful salad is not for me as I’m dairy free.

Thank you. I'm sorry. My sister is also dairy free and whenever Mom made this salad she couldn't eat her.

I should start doing some dairy free recipe post myself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94