3 Ways To Sneak In Extra Protein Into Your Life

in #food6 years ago

Hey guys!

When I started my weight loss journey, my main focus was finding meals that would be super low in calories, but still high in protein.
Yes, there are the obvious true and trusted choices - chicken breast, Greek yoghurt or protein powder – but of course I wanted more and so I was constantly on the lookout for that super food that would have great macros. And yes, it always felt like I had discovered some secret magical food that only I knew about and no one else had ever thought of (let me soak in my glory people, please)!

The first thing on my list are drum roll - Egg whites!

We've all heard of eggs woman!!

Yes okay, I know, but did you hear about the ways you can sneak in specifically egg whites into your food? Eggs are great for you but sometimes you want the extra protein without the calories of a full egg, ya feel me?
One cup of egg whites contains 125 calories and 26 g of protein! It’s amazing and such an easy way to sneak in protein into your food, as they are pretty plain tasting and so can be dressed up in any way. Another great thing is that you can buy the egg whites in a carton, and so you never have to waste a yolk. Just pour some out into a measuring cup and you know exactly how much you’re getting.

The obvious would be to make an omelet or scrambled eggs with them, either mixed in with a full egg or two, or purely egg whites on their own. I love just having scrambled egg whites, which I usually spice up by sautéing some spinach and tomatoes first, then adding in the egg whites and topping it off with some hot sauce.

Another great way to utilize egg whites is to sneak them in into minced meat. My usual meat of choice is ground turkey, which I first fully cook, then pour in some egg whites and scramble them with the meat, giving the turkey an extra boost without really noticing or feeling the eggs.

Moving on to sweet dishes, I love to use them in protein pancakes! I just add around half a cup of egg whites to a scoop of protein powder, spice it up with some cinnamon, fry them up and good to go. Top off with some bananas and sugar free maple syrup and you got yourself a low calorie but high protein meal.

Don’t forget you can also add them to your shakes, your oatmeal, into wraps and stir-fry’s, or make some French toast with them!
I always keep a carton of egg whites in my fridge no matter what, and they never let me down (unlike everyone else in my li- alright I’ll stop).

~

The next thing on my list is - Tuna.
A can of tuna, in water, has 30 grams of protein for 120 calories.
It’s available everywhere, can be stored easily and for a long time and doesn’t need cooking!

As a broke university student tuna is my favourite thing because every time it’s on sale I just buy it in bulk and store it for forever. Let me tell you, it’s been a life saver during too many post-alcohol nights where the fridge is empty and all you have are some saltine crackers to munch on. Plus some frozen broccoli, which I always seem to have in the freezer, that let’s be honest, I will never use.

Anyway, back to tuna. Basically it’s great.
It’s also neutral enough where you can easily add any condiment and sauce to it and still have it taste good. One of my favorites, is just adding lemon juice and pepper, and then picking it up with pieces of pita bread. Sometimes I’ll chop in red bell pepper and parsley too. So good!

Another thing I do is mash together tuna and avocado, and then spread it on a super toasted piece of bread. Essentially the avocado is used there instead of the typical mayonnaise. Top it off with some lemon or lime, or some hot sauce, and you got yourself an amazing meal.

Going back to egg whites, I used to eat scrambled egg whites with a can of tuna topped with sriracha as a post workout meal, or simply if I was low on protein for the day. That meal would give me around 46 grams of protein for only 245 calories!

Tuna is also a great addition to so many salads, with a side of rice, or with a white sauce on top of pasta!

~

Now moving on, my next favorite is Skyr Yoghurt.
It’s an Icelandic yoghurt that has been compared to Greek yoghurt a lot, as it tastes pretty much the same, except that Skyr is has slightly better macros. A ¾ cup of 0% fat Greek yoghurt has 18 g of protein for 120 calories, while a ¾ cup of 0% Skyr has 21 g protein for 110 calories. It’s amazing!

I always go for plain yoghurt, as it’s just more versatile for me. I use it topped onto fruit with some honey and nuts on top, making it a breakfast or even a dessert. I also love to use it in smoothie bowls when I need the protein boost.

I love to go the savory route as well, where I blend the plain yoghurt with some minced garlic, lemon juice, salt and pepper and cilantro, then I pour it over rice!

So, these are the three foods I like to use to get in that extra protein into my day, with some ideas on how to utilize them.
I hope this was useful!

Sort:  

G’day mate! and I Upvoted you :) !
:
“You can make fun of yourself and people will laugh at you. If you’re smart, you’ll end up as a comedian. If you’re not, you’ll end up as a clown.” ====> Ljupka Cvetanova

Me gustan tus proteinas Teresa gracias por tus consejos...!!

Me encanta que Te haya gustado!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64