Low Calorie Chocolate Molten Cake

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys!

This post is going to be all about molten chocolate cake – but with a few twists. Also, before you continue reading, go preheat your oven to 350 ºF because you will want to make this once you’re done!
Before we get into these twists, I will start with a small introduction to my diet and how I like to cook.
Two years ago, I started a weight loss journey, which involved the dreaded gym membership (hello insecurities!) but more importantly, involved a drastic diet change. I calculated my daily calorie goals and started tracking everything I eat into a calorie tracking app. At first it involved the traditional chicken breast with broccoli and sweet potato, which, while looked great in photos I’d post on social media, did absolutely nothing for my taste buds (or soul!). So, I thought, why not enjoy all my favorite foods, but with an adjustment that would halve the calories but retain the amazing taste?
After that, I focused on making well-loved foods like pizza, burgers, pasta, brownies – but now with substitutions that did not break the calorie bank and did not take up more than half an hour to cook up.

Therefore, you will notice a lot of my recipes will be low calorie! For example, this molten chocolate cake (here come the so called ‘twists’) … it is both fit for a ketogenic diet and a low-calorie diet, adding up to only 170 calories per cake! Add some strawberries and you basically have a 200 calorie ‘snack’! Because let’s be honest, who doesn’t want to count their dessert as a snack.
Alright I’ll stop rambling and get into it.

Low Calorie Chocolate Molten Cake

1528660170601.jpg

Ingredient list:

  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon of Stevia
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon of heavy cream
  • ¼ teaspoon of baking powder
  • Pinch of salt!

IMG_1394.jpg

Preheat your oven to 350 ºF (I warned you!). Whisk the egg until the yolk and the egg white are mixed and proceed to add in all the dry ingredients. Keep mixing until it forms a cake batter. Pour into an oiled ramekin or spring form, and pop into the oven for about 7 minutes! The edges should be relatively stiff, and the middle should be still jiggly.
Once done, pop it out and enjoy! Or if you’re impatient and lazy like me, grab a spoon and eat it right out of the ramekin! Voila!

This recipe is about 160-170 calories (depending on the cocoa powder), 0 g sugar and only 4 g of carbs! Therefore, it is fit for both a low-calorie diet and a ketogenic diet.

1528659785440.JPEG

I have added some strawberries to my cake and topped it with some low calorie caramel ice-cream for the ultimate gooey chocolate-y dessert. For keto folks, you can add some nut butter, or (and!) some heavy whipped cream to up the fat content.
That’s the great thing about this recipe, the base is so simple and easy, and you can add anything you want to it to fit your own macros!

xo, Teresa

PS. Here's a cute photo of my cat because why not.

(My face when I'm working out and realize I can have chocolate cake right after.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75