Fall Begins with Roasted Carrot and Butternut Squash Soup (SIBO/FODMAP Friendly)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Alas, my reluctant acceptance of autumn - and squash is EVERYWHERE. Thankfully it is okayed on the SIBO diet, and I have found it has become a staple substitute for potatoes (how I miss potatoes).

Squash is not only delicious if cooked right but is packed with Vitamin A, C and boosts immunity - a positive during the season of 'change in the weather' colds going around.

If like me, you meal prep, throw as many items onto that roasting pan that fit. I simultaneously cooked my spaghetti squash for 'pasta' meals in the week and acorn squash for another soup. If I can save time and not become a slave to my kitchen with SIBO I will!

So here it is, a simple recipe to start your fall soup collection:

Ingredients:
A medium butternut squash (about 3 cups)
Equal amount carrots
Coconut milk and/or vegetable stock (must be onion and garlic free) for richness
Coconut oil for roasting
2 tsp Curry powder
2 tsp Garlic infused oil
1 tsp Cinnamon
Salt
Black pepper
Any additional spices - feel free to experiment, sometimes I throw All Spice in too

Chives and rock salt for garnish

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 and cut squash in halves. Coat the open half in some coconut oil, salt and pepper and place face down on a foil lined tray.

Bake until a fork pierces the skin easily (about 30 - 45 min)

Remove and allow to cool.

Combine roasted carrots, scooped butternut squash flesh and spices and hand blend. I am sure you could use a food processor too, but I find they make soup a little too smooth. Slowly add the coconut milk, and or broth according to how you like your soup's richness.

Garnish with chives, to add some onion flavour, and rock salt. Enjoy!

20171014_154546-01.jpg

Plan to refrigerate or freeze? I like to use mason jars as they stack nicely in the fridge and you just need to take off the lid to heat it up in the microwave for work, they also freeze well. Another cool tip for freezing (pun intended) is to place soup into sandwich bags, lie the bags flat to freeze, then when frozen they can be 'filed' into the freezer, saving space. Be sure to place something between the bags so they do not stick together initially, like wax paper.

Sort:  

Pls, follback 😆😆

plz follow me back bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47