30 Days of Indonesia #15 // Serabi Kuah (Apam Kuah)

in #food6 years ago

This following dessert is my father's favorite. When I was younger, my mama used to sell her baked goods at a known mall, called Hero Supermarket, this was in early 90s. One of her product was this dessert.

This is Serabi Kuah. They are like pancake, but served with sweet sauce.

1527800442666.jpg

The one I made was not using her recipe though, as my mama used eggs in hers, and I no longer use eggs in my goodies.

Yesterday as I decided to make this dessert, I saw the clock and thought, better not call home as we are 14 H different, and discussing food while fasting is just cruel 🤣

So I surfed the net, to my surprise, majority use rice flour and I did not think my mama used it. Not wanting to mess things up, I dug up old e-mails from my sisters, dated back in 2006 🤣 Just to find family heirloom 🤣 So yeah, hers is with all purpose, egg, and BP, no rice flour.

Later I surfed the net again to see why many use rice flour, apparently serabi is originally from Central Java and it was always with rice flour, although there are so many variations all over Indonesia.

So...I decided to come up with my own 🤣 Mostly because..egg, you know. Regardless which style of serabi, they are all with eggs.

This dessert was so good, wish I didn't have to share! (Fat face 🤣) But once I tried my version, it dawned to me that my pancake was totally different from what I remember. Instead my childhood pancake, I actually made another dessert called Apam Santan 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Which made sense since I used yeast in mine 😅

So back to Google I went and turns out, some people refer serabi as apam, wow, mind blown. So totally different from my childhood for sure, as serabi is pancake while apam is a cakelettes, at least in Borneo, at my parents' house 🤣 Yeah, you know, different islands different customs, and Indonesia has thousands of islands, same name but different goodies and vice versa 🤣

ANYHOO

Here is (my)Serabi Kuah which actually is more to Apam Kuah

ingredients

  • 50 ml lukewarm water
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/3 c + 2 tbsp all purpose four
  • 4 tbsp rice flour
  • 1 can of thick coconut milk (love arroy-d brand!)
  • 1 screwpine leaf, knotted
  • 1/2 c of sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tbsp coconut palm sugar
  • generous pinches of salt

how to

  • bring coconut milk, sugar and leaf to simmer, only until sugar dissolved, set aside to cool almost to room temperature
  • stir in yeast and sugar into lukewarm water, set aside to bloom
  • mix flours and a pinch of salt in a bowl, pour in 150 ml cooled coconut milk, stir to combine
  • stir in vanill essence then pour in yeast mixture, cover and let rest for 15-20 mins

1527800576987.jpg

1527800599227.jpg

1527800614491.jpg

  • meanwhile, mix in coconut palm sugar and salt into coconut milk leftover, bring back to simmer until sugar is dissolved, set aside

1527800654275.jpg

  • prepare pan (I used mini serabi pan/dollar pancake pan) on medium heat, brush cavities with a tbsp of cooking oil

1527800637166.jpg

  • once pan is hot, pour batter and cook until bottom is golden brown and surface is not wet to the touch
  • serve pancake with chilled sauce or warm, or with added crushed ice

1527800467416.jpg



VOTE me as your witness at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. On the provided box, type thekitchenfairy and click VOTE

1526477305672.jpg

Find me on Discord, being friendly on #teamcanada, #teamaustralia, #thealliance, #vegansofsteemit, and helping new comers on #indonesia



Semalam maksud hati pingin makan serabi kuah seperti yang mamaku jajakan di Hero Supermarket tahun 90an dulu. Tapi karena resep beliau memakai telur, dan aku sudah 2 tahunan hidup tanpa telur, jadi ngubek2 internet.

Sempat heran kok orang2 pakai tepung beras, seingatku resep mama ga pakai. Karena ga pingin serabi yang dihasilkan ga enak, aku buka2 email lama dr mbakku. Aku ingat di tahun 2006 aku pernah minta kirimin resep serabi seperti dirumah, dan benar, resep kami hanya terigu, telur dan kadang diberi sedikit baking powder

Akhirnya buka internet lagi karena penasaran kenapa rata2 pakai tepung beras. Ternyata dari daerah asalnya, yaitu Yogyakarta, serabi memakai tepung beras. Dan memang sih daerah lain punya serabi kuah yang beragam, jadi jangan protes dulu 🤣

Setelah kupikir2, ku ambil sedikit resep mama dan kugabung dengan ide2 dari internet, yaitu memakai tepung beras juga. Sebagai pengganti telur, pakai ragi. Inilah caraku membuat serabi kuah, seperti berikut ini. Namuuuun, pas akhirnya bisa kuinciipi, malah aku ngakak sendiri, karena serabi kuah ku seperti rasa apem kuah 🤣 Dan kembalilah ke om Google. Ternyataaaaa, daerah2 tertentu di Indonesia, menyebut serabi kuah mereka sebagai apam kuah. Alamaaaak 🤣 Iya lah, kan pakai ragi, tentunya jadi apem, kenapa kok ga kepikir 🤣

Lain ladang lain belalang. Kadang nama sama, rasa berbeda, kadang nama berbeda, rasa sama 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Ya udah deh, nih siapa yang mau ikutan coba, Serabi Kuah alias Apam Kuah, ala Kanada 🤣✌🤣✌

1527800512747.jpg

bahan2

  • 1 kaleng santan kental siap pakai
  • 1/2 gelas gula pasir
  • 1 helai daun pandan, ikat

rebus hanya hingga gula larut, ga musti mendidih, sisihkan, biarkan dingin

sementara itu, campur dan biarkan mengembang

  • 50 ml air suam-suam kuku
  • 1/2 sdt gula
  • 1 sdt ragi kue

dalam mangkuk bersih, campurkan

  • 1/3 gelas + 2 sdm terigu
  • 4 sdm tepung beras
  • tuang 150 ml santan, aduk rata
  • beri 1 sdt esens vanila aduk rata
  • tuang ragi, aduk rata dan tutup adonan, biarkan 15-20 menit (akan mengembang)
  • panaskan cetakan serabi mini diatas api sedang
  • beri sedikit minyak goreng
  • bila sudah panas, tuang adonan dan masak hingga bagian bawah kecoklatan
  • beri 1 sdm gula palem dan sejumput garam ke sisa santan, rebus hingga gula larut, tidak usah mendidih
  • sajikan serabi dengan kuah santan (boleh hangat, boleh dingin, boleh dikasih es juga)

Bagi yang mau unggah foto makanan/minuman sahur dan takjilmu, gunakan tag #ramadan-tkf. Dengan senang hati akan aku kunjungi blog-mu dan akan aku upvote tentunya 😊. Siapapun boleh ikutan, baik kamu berpuasa ataupun hanya ingin memeriahkan Steemit nuansa Ramadan 🙏Resteem yah, biar teman lainnya kecipratan rejeki sedikit upvote-an dariku ❤



VOTE thekitchenfairy sebagai saksi (witness) di https://steemit.com/~witnesses. Dalam kolom yang tersedia ketik thekitchenfairy dan klik VOTE

1526477305672.jpg

Aktif membantu pendatang baru di channel #indonesia di MSP PAL Discord



Thanks For Looking!



30 Indonesian Traditional Sweets

Day 1 - Srikaya Roti Pisang - Bread Pudding
Day 2 - Kue Talam Labu Kuning - Pumpkin Cakelettes
Day 3 - Es Kolak Kolang Kaling - Toddy Palm Fruit Ice
Day 4 - Roti Pisang - Banana Cake
Day 5 - Es Pisang Ijo - Green Banana Ice
Day 6 - Es Blewah - Cantaloupe Drink
Day 7 - Dugo Aceh - Glutinous Rice Cake
Day 8 - Pisang Coklat - Sweet 'Spring' Rolls
Day 9 - Kue Pancong - Rice Flour Cakelettes
Day 10 - Kue Kacamata - Unicorn Slice
Day 11 - Kue Mangkok - Chinese Cup Cakes
Day 12 - Es Bengkuang - Jicama Ice
Day 13 - Bubur Candil - Glutinous Balls Dessert
Day 14 - Es Cendol - Worm Jelly Ice



More of thekitchenfairy

12 Questions
A Steemit Witness
Fairy and Food
Love It or Shove It
10 Facts 1 Lie
Behind The Curtain
WhosTheKitchenFairy



Team AustraliaThe Alliance
U5dtKdfLm9nJqKJFHfRKLjJFPPcjKxt_1680x8400.jpgU5dsLndjHTL75XZyjr7kKWCrtdQJFAS_1680x8400 (1).jpg


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits

Sort:  

Sudah lama ga pernah lagi makan apem kuah gini

this is a dessert? this don't look like no dessert kitchenfairy! but if you make it I'll eat it lol. Hey have you ever used Natvia to bake with, the sugar replacement that is keto friendly? It's made of Stevia and Erythritol and supposed to be great. I think you could make Keto donuts with it, I mean with your skill ya know?
also how in the world do you bake without eggs? I thought that was impossible. you're Superfairy!

Yaa ampuun mbaa, Apam Kuah itu Bahasa Aceh lo, lol 🤣

Di Kalimantan juga apam say 😊

Kalo yang ada kuahnya gini namanya surabi jenk di tempatku. Wah ngiler malem-malem liat postingan ini.

Wah pastinya enak sekali itu.. 😋

wow. they looked so mouthwatering. I should try it out later. I love sweets and desserts.

Keliatannya enak nih ka jadi ngiler😋

Ngebayangin jam segini buka puasa nti pake apam kuah ni hmmmm...
Lumer 😋

That looks yummy, but I wonder if the texture would be off putting for me. There is only one way to find out. What time should I come over to try some ? :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62788.74
ETH 2974.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60