Dr. TLK _ My 2018 Diary_ Feb 13th, 2018_ Chocolate Mango Muffins

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Today, I felt like making one of the healthy muffins again. As usual, I never follow a recipe by the letter and so I improvised a bit :P

This is the final product after baking
IMG_0604.JPG

The recipe

IngredientsAmountsweight (gm)/volume (ml)
Whole wheat pastry flour~ 1 3/4 cup~ 222 gm
Quick Oatmeal~ 1/4 cup~ 25 gm
buttermilk~ 3/4 cup~ 180 ml
Orange marmalade~ 1 tbsp~ 40 gm
Oil~ 3 tsp~ 25 gm
egg1large
Unsweetened Apple/Pear sauce1 snack size pack~113 gm
Liquid Vanilla~ 1 tsp~4 gm
salt~ 1/2 tsp~1 gm
Baking Powder~ 2 tsp~ 8 gm
Baking Soda~ 0.5 tsp~ 8 gm
Fresh Mango~ 1 cup~180 gm
Honey~ 1/4 cup~ 85 gm
Baker's Chocolate 100%~ 6 squares~ 40gm
Pure Collagen Peptides~ 3 scoops~ 30gm

The Method

1- I didn't have buttermilk, so I started by adding 1 tbsp of apple vinegar (or lemon juice) to 3/4 cup of milk, to make my own buttermilk.

2- I peeled and cut the mango to small pieces

IMG_0597.JPG

3- I chopped the baker's chocolate, and added the dry ingredients together first

IMG_0598.JPG

4- Then I measured and added the wet ingredients

IMG_0599.JPG

5- I mixed all the ingredients by hand with a spatula until they are evenly incorporated, then added the mango and mixed again briefly

IMG_0600.JPG

6- I distributed the mix into 9 paper cups and baked at 375C for about 29 min. (Check with a toothpick in the middle for doneness after 20 min).

7- Enjoy! 😁

The recipe calorie count

Final Notes

1- I couldn't wait until tomorrow, so I tried about 1/2 a muffin. It tasted yummy to me. They are not very sweet and the bitterness of the pure chocolate gives an additional contradictory flavor. They have nice aroma and can be eaten with PB, almond butter or alone.

2- Each muffin has a good amount of fiber, Iron and protein, while their calories, carb and fat amounts are pretty decent.



...Till Next Episode!

Dr. The Leaping Koala 😊

LEAPING_KOALA_cover_1.png
Logo by @orcheva

Many thanks for visiting, commenting and upvoting 😊

Sort:  

Looks too delicious dear Dr! My current lifestyle does not allow for energy hungry ovens though, so I will have to drop the dough into a baking bag and steam it till it's done - the way I 'bake' my own brown health loaves!

Enjoy!

You have an interesting life style my dear @clicketyclick, Is it by choice that you don't use energy hungry ovens? Would you use a small toaster oven? or you just have a stove top arrangement?

Sorry for all the questions. I feel curious to know how you live and manage.

I have never been rich, but I have always been lucky to have the stuff which I consider basic in life (such as ovens). I never considered that they are an extra commodity in my life, but I guess they are to many people. Which makes sense, especially that a lot of people don't have food or shelter, which are the basics of the basics

Sorry for sounding like a spoiled and ignorant person and thank you for sharing some of your life's habits with me.

Thanks for visiting and for your support :D<3

I suppose I could write a book answering your question dear @theleapingkoala...on the one hand, it's a matter of principle, maybe even a bit of an obsession, simply from being energy-aware, especially in the sense of efficient application of energy to get things done. On the other hand, yes I do have to budget carefully, not having an income generating enterprise running at the moment.

My computer, phones and lights are all solar powered, I cook mostly on a gas range in my mobile home and I collect rainwater for all my needs into a tank I have installed, large enough to see me through a couple of months in case of a dry spell.

And yes, it is a matter of choice camping out like this. Not only does it minimize my cost of living - it also affords me the privilege of privacy, lots of space and being close to nature. This does not mean that I am a veritable hermit though - I live a few kilometers from a coastal town where I can visit friends and family and where I do most of my shopping.

I have had my share of experience with cooking facilities of different kinds, having been involved in the running of more that one restaurant and also having owned a service business. I in fact designed and installed a gas-fired pizza oven in a restaurant for a client of mine in a different, rather arty village I once lived in!

My motorhome is equipped with both a microwave oven and a gas oven, but I have to start up a generator to run the microwave, which makes it less cost effective, and the gas oven is not very efficient, using more energy to heat itself and to compensate for heat loss than what gets into cooking/baking. And what is more, I have tons of firewood out of the wild at my disposal, which is much more fun to use.

Maybe one day, when I get around to finishing my prospective outdoor kitchen, I could post you a photo of that.

A hug full of warm saved up energy to you!

Holy cow Delicious! Yum Yum Yummmy that is all I can say and wish I was there having one with you .. thank you for sharing your recipe. :)

Thank you @eaglespirit for visiting, upvoting and for your comment.

I would have loved to share them with you for sure with hot coffee or tea or a glass of cold milk or almond milk, whichever you like ;D

Aww so sweet of you, I would love that so much. I would probably have tea with these! Wow. Did you like the way they came out? xx

Thank you my dear!

They came out really nice. Actually they tasted even better next morning with a thin layer of natural peanut butter spread on top and accompanied by a steaming cup of coffee.

The Honey taste and aroma was evident. So next time I am thinking to use coconut sugar and see how it will enhance the taste of mango and chocolate :D

i bet, i am trying to come up with a dessert that does not have much sugar and that would include the fruit that would be added. i think i came up with something but it will have to be edited with stevia or agave i dunno.
wish i was there! xx

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 07:48:08
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I just wish that the ingredients are available here, I would love to try this out this weekend.

Hi @wdoutjah, Thank you for stopping by

You can substitute the fresh mango with dried ones and the 100% baker's chocolate with 70% or 50% chocolate from any brand available

Let me know how you liked it :D

I love mango! I am going to have to try this one.

Thank you for visiting my dear @strypes,

You can substitute the honey with sweeteners that are suitable for your diabetes condition or lower the amount of honey you add.

Let me know how you like it :D

It is the carbs in the bread that is also my enemy. They turn to sugar in my blood. I don't use the artificial sweeteners. I get more than my share of chemicals in my coke zero. When I do indulge in sweet things, I prefer real.

This looks YUMMY!! Thank you sooooooooooooooooo much for sharing this!

Hi @pepsofunny,

Thank you for visiting and commenting. They are yummy indeed :D

Oh wow looks so delicious!!
I made brownies check it out too https://steemit.com/food/@emanfatima/sunday-brownies

Hi @emanfatima,

Thank you for visiting and commenting and thank you for sharing your brownies recipe :)

Oh sure no problem! :)

It looks amazing, TLK! Sure it tastes good too. Best wishes, Sveto.

Thank you @dwarfche for visiting and commenting.

They were delicious indeed :D

I looooooove healthy muffins, thanks for the share <3

Thank you dear @lizzyb for visiting and for your support.

I am happy to share the things I love with the people I love :D<3

stop it! I'm DROOOOOLING!

Hahaha!

I wish I could send you some to stop your drooling ;D

Thanks for the visit and support <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75